Print this page

Academic Board

The University of Canberra Act 1989 establishes the Academic Board which, subject to the Statutes, is responsible under the Council for all academic matters relating to the University; and may advise the Council on any matter relating to education, learning or research or the academic work of the University.

The University of Canberra (Academic Board) Statute 2011 (formerly Academic Board Statute 1990 (Statute No. 1) and the University of Canberra Academic Board Rules 2011 (147Kb PDF) also governs the work of the Board and amongst other matters sets out its responsibilities, powers and membership in more detail.

The Academic Governance Handbook gives an overview of the Governance at the University of Canberra, Academic Board and its sub-committees, roles and responsibilities of members, administrative processes and meeting protocols, and quality assurance.

The Academic Board Bulletin provides a summary of discussions and decisions of Academic Board.  It is published following each Academic Board meeting.


MemberPositionTerm CommencedTerm Ends
Professor Elisa Martinez-MarroquinChair1 Jan 202031 Dec 2022
Professor Paddy NixonVice-Chancellor and PresidentEx-Officio 
Professor Geoff CrispDVC and VP, AcademicEx-Officio 
Professor Leigh SullivanDVC and VP Research and InnovationEx-Officio 
Ms Vicki WilliamsDVC and VP, Finance and InfrastructureEx-Officio 
Professor Jason BainbridgeExecutive Dean, Faculty of Arts and DesignEx-Officio 
Professor Wendy LaceyExecutive Dean, Faculty of Business, Government and LawEx-Officio 
Professor Barney DelgarnoExecutive Dean, Faculty of EducationEx-Officio 
Professor Geoff CrispActing Executive Dean, Faculty of Science and TechnologyEx-Officio 
Professor Michelle LincolnExecutive Dean, Faculty of HealthEx-Officio 
Professor Peter RadollPVC, IndigenousEx-Officio 
Professor Ali QuaziElected Member1 Jan 201931 Dec 2020
Distinguished Professor Jen WebbElected Member1 Jan 201931 Dec 2020
Professor Charles LemckertElected Member1 Jan 201931 Dec 2020
Professor Rachel DaveyElected Member1 Jan 2019 31 Dec 2020
Assoc Prof Benedict SheehyElected Member1 Jan 201931 Dec 2020
Assoc Prof Michael JasperElected Member1 Jan 201931 Dec 2020
Dr Jane KellettElected Member1 Jan 201931 Dec 2020
Assoc Prof Tamsin KellyElected Member1 Jan 201931 Dec 2020
Assoc Prof Philip RobertsElected Member1 Jan 201931 Dec 2020
Professor Lawrence PratchettPVC, Students, Partnerships and International29 Jun 202028 Jun 2022
Professor Lyndon AndersonPVC, Learninga nd Teaching29 Jun 202028 Jun 2022
Ms Melissa HankinsonCouncil Appointed Member1 Jan 202031 Dec 2021
Assoc Prof Kate PumpaCouncil Appointed Member1  Jan 202031 Dec 2021
Mr Josh HoughtonElected Undergraduate Student1 Jan 202031 Dec 2020
Mr Majid AlsubaieElected Postgraduate Student1 Jan 202031 Dec 2020

Other Committees of Academic Board

Schedule of Meetings

Academic Board typically has six scheduled meetings a year, with the option of holding special meetings if required.  The 2020 Meeting Schedule is available here.  Agenda papers must be submitted two weeks before the meeting.  Meetings of Academic Board are held in the Council Room.

Minutes of meetings

Minutes of Academic Board and its Committees are available through the Academic Board and Committees Portal.


For further information regarding Academic Board contact the Governance Office


Phone:  Connie Venning - 02 6206 3958