Print this page

Legislation Committee


  • Supports Council in exercising its governance responsibilities for the establishment of an appropriate and effective legislative foundation for the University; and
  • Exercises governance responsibilities on behalf of Council in receiving and reviewing advice in relation to legal matters as required.

Terms of Reference

The Committee advises Council on:

  • proposed amendments to the University of Canberra Act 1989 (ACT) and any other matters relating to the Act;
  • the appropriate legislative foundation of the University, comprising statutes and rules made under the University of Canberra Act 1989, and other statutory instruments as may be appropriate;
  • the outcome of reviews of the statutes and rules of the University, which the Committee undertakes as necessary and at least within a three year cycle;
  • the objects, provisions and text of individual statutes and rules;
  • significant legal and compliance risks and the mitigation of those risks; and
  • any legal matter referred to the Committee by Council.

The Committee may determine, on the delegated authority of Council:

  • policy or action strategies in relation to legal matters or in response to legal advice.

2017 Meeting Dates

  • Thursday, 4 May 2017
  • Thursday, 5 October 2017


Category Member Period of Appointment
Member of Council with relevant expertise as Chair Ms Prue Power AM 7 March 2014 - 31 January 2018
One of two members of Council Ms Mara Eversons1 February 2016 - 31 December 2017
One of two members of Council Ms Sue Salthouse 7 March 2014 - 31 January 2018
Vice-Chancellor & President (ex officio) Professor H. Deep Saini 
Staff Advisory Member Assistant Professor Maree Sainsbury  


Acting Secretary Ms Kathleen O'Sullivan
Minutes Secretary Ms Helen Vooren