Filter articles by:
Date published
Article keywords
Article type

Peter Leonard Scholarship opens broadcast journalism doors for UC student

3 September 2021: Graduating University of Canberra Journalism student Brooke Roff is this year’s winner of the WIN News Peter Leonard Scholarship for Journalism.

The annual scholarship for University of Canberra journalism students is named after Peter Leonard, who was a much-loved journalist and news presenter at WIN News for 16 years. It was created in recognition of the contribution Mr Leonard made to journalism in the Canberra region over his 45-year journalism career.

Ms Roff is one of four students who interned in the WIN Canberra newsroom this year, engaging with the local community and developing their journalism skills.

“The internship at WIN News Canberra has opened the door for me to see what I am capable of, and what I can do in the future,” said Ms Roff.

“While I still have a lot to learn, I gained a lot of valuable skills and experience from working with the WIN journalists. I am very excited to complete my degree and pursue a career in broadcast journalism.”

“Brooke was incredibly proactive throughout the internship, put forward some solid pitches and worked with the team to develop them,” said Sophie Lester, Chief of Staff at WIN News Canberra.

“She’s been a team player but has shown she has the capacity to work independently – it’s a fine balance but one that is critical to becoming a journalist. With growing confidence and room to hone her craft, I’m sure Brooke will flourish as a reporter.

“Congratulations also to our runners-up Rebecca More and Natalia Abassi.”

Ms Roff, who has also interned with the Seriously Social podcast from the Academy of Social Sciences – and who is currently developing an audio story with ABC Radio Canberra in her capstone – is looking forward to pursuing a career in broadcast journalism.

“I was extremely excited and grateful for the opportunity to intern at WIN News Canberra,” said Ms Roff.

“As an aspiring journalist and Canberra local, I loved discovering more about the community and learning so much from fantastic journalists whom I admire. It was rewarding to see how the community responded to the stories I covered on issues I care about, like homelessness and disability.”

Ms Roff received $2,500 and will work as a journalist in the WIN Canberra Newsroom for three weeks.

The runners-up each received $500.

“In this time of COVID-19, sharing trusted news and connecting with our local community is more important than ever,” said Professor Jason Bainbridge, Executive Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Design at the University.

“We thank WIN for its ongoing commitment in supporting our talented journalism students and the service it provides to our community.”


2019 – Laura Gale, continuing studies

2018 – Lewis Haskew, Senior Journalist at Canberra FM

2016 – Naomi Avery, Senior Reporter at 9 News Central West

2015 – Allison Hattley, Content Strategy at Canberra Health Services

2014 – Alkira Reinfrank, Studio producer at South China Morning Post SCMP

2013 – Katarina Slavich, Media Officer at University of Canberra

2012 – Ashley Leal, Campaign Manager at Engineers Australia

2011 – Gabrielle Adams, Deputy Editor at

2010 – Philip Prior, Sports Commentator at Stan

2009 – Lisa Mosley, Journalist at ABC News Canberra