Filter articles by:
Date published
Article keywords
Article type

Elite student athletes awarded $10,000 scholarship

Elly Mackay

30 May 2023: Nine elite student athletes have been awarded a $10,000 scholarship, with a further two receiving $5,000, as part of the annual Eldon and Anne Foote Elite Athlete Scholarships ceremony at the University of Canberra today.

The scholarship, which has been presented to students since 2015, is intended to support student athletes in achieving their education and sporting goals without financial pressure.

2023 recipients include athletes competing in the AFLW, swimming, cricket, snowboarding and race walking.

Director of Sport at UC, Carrie Graf, said the annual scholarships through the Eldon and Anne Foote Trust provide elite athletes the opportunity to pursue study while continuing to focus on their respective high-performance sport.

“The students receiving scholarships are being recognised for their dedication to their sport, and their commitment to furthering their education and study,” Ms Graf said.

“Often, balancing their high-performance sport training and competition commitments alongside study can put financial strain on these student-athletes. This support helps them immensely towards achieving their sporting goals and study ambitions.”

Aligned with the University’s Sport Strategy, these scholarships promote access to higher education through sport.

“As we continue to support all our student athletes to succeed, and foster a community where sport research, education, and participation is at the forefront of everything we do, these scholarships are invaluable,” Ms Graf said.

Scholarship recipients attended a presentation and event on campus today where they were able to meet Anne Foote and network with their fellow athletes.

Snowboarder Mia Chawner was one recipient, and said the scholarship will make a big difference in easing the financial pressures of her sport.

“I do alpine snowboarding and there aren’t any options available for training in Australia, so there’s no coaches or programs I can go to here,” Ms Chawner said.

“It’s solely overseas, which is quite costly, especially when it comes to getting over there, the training, and then the competitions as well.

“This scholarship is going to help me get overseas this year and pay for my training.”

The Eldon and Anne Foote Elite Athlete Scholarships are awarded in addition to the University’s long-standing Elite Athlete Program, further affirming UC’s place as a leading sporting university in Australia.

2023 Eldon and Anne Foote Elite Athlete Scholarship recipients:

Jasmine Greenwood, Para Swimming

Tess Cattle, AFLW

Kayla Hardy, Swimming

Matthew Harrow, Softball

Mia Chawner, Snowboarding

Davis Atkin, Hockey

Mitchell Baker, Race Walking

Jesse Moore, Gymnastics

Ari Gesini, Para Athletics

Michael Dimuantes, Ultra-trail marathon

Gabrielle Sutcliffe, Cricket