Filter articles by:
Date published
Article keywords
Article type

University of Canberra’s educators recognised for excellence

Danielle Meddemmen

3 March 2022: Two groups of University of Canberra academics have been recognised for their contribution to student learning at this year’s Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT).

The AAUT awards, established in 1997 by the Australian Government, aim to celebrate and reward excellence in teaching across the nation.

A team from the University’s Faculty of Education including Dr Michael Davies, Dr John Williams, Margie Appel, Joanna Smith and Naomi Nye were awarded a Citation for their Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning.

The citation was awarded to the team for its work in developing and teaching the education unit The Practice of Pedagogical Content Knowledge of Teaching Health and Physical Education.

“The unit was a new iteration into the Bachelor of Primary Education in 2016 and has proven its ability to give our pre-service teachers the skills and confidence they need to deliver quality Physical Education in schools,” Dr Davies said.

“It sees our students taking part in a schools-based clinics approach, by taking Physical Education classes in local schools each week, and leading the way we teach Physical Education based on evidence-based practice,” Dr Williams added.

The second team – Dr Jane Frost and Kathryn Sainsbury – from the Faculty of Health was also awarded a Citation for their Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning,

The pair were commended for their work in delivering a capstone unit in the Bachelor of Nursing, which successfully used social learning strategies to consolidate prior learning.

“This is a nine-credit point unit at the end of the Bachelor’s degree, which included seven weeks of placement and aimed to consolidate our student’s knowledge and help them prepare to enter the workforce,” Dr Frost said.

“The unit used social learning theories and innovative simulation to enhance students’ preparedness for clinical practice as a Registered Nurse.”

The awards were presented by Universities Australia Chair Professor John Dewar AO and Awards Director Professor Angela Carbone in a virtual ceremony.

The University’s Pro-Vice Chancellor (Education) Professor Tania Broadley held a small screening of the online event on campus and extended her congratulations to UC's citation recipients.

“Teaching is at the heart of everything we do at the University. Our educators have been challenged to think differently through recent years and to consider student engagement and the student experience more than ever,” she said.

“I would like to congratulate our educators who have been awarded with this national recognition, who have strived and succeeded to reflect on their teaching and curriculum that results in improved student learning.”