Print this page

UC Faculty of Education Mentor Awards

Mentor Award_Faith BentleyHave you had a mentor who is nurturing, supportive and who provided you with the opportunity to truly learn and grow?

The Faculty acknowledges the work of our teacher mentors who support our pre-service teachers on their journey into the profession of teaching. The UC Faculty of Education Mentor Awards is an opportunity for PSTs to personally acknowledge their mentor/s.

Why is this important?

As a profession, we all rely on the generosity, skills and knowledge of mentors to support pre-service teachers to improve their practice and prepare for their careers. We know that many of our mentors go above and beyond in order to fulfill this commitment. It is important that this is valued and recognised.

The process

Every year our PSTs have the chance to nominate their mentor/s  to say thank you to someone who has positively impacted their life, knowledge and understanding and who has helped them on their journey.

A panel reviews the nominations and recommends a number of mentors to receive a UC Faculty of Education Mentor of the Year award.

These awards are presented at a special ceremony attended by award winning mentors and the PSTs who nominate them.

2021 nominations closed on 31 July.

Winners announced at the Affiliated Schools Annual conference on 22 October.

In 2020, the UC Faculty of Education Mentor Awards were presented as part of the Annual Affiliated Schools Conference on October 20. Due to the restrictions placed on the event by COVID19, the conference and the Award Ceremony were virtual.

The circumstances did not prevent the ceremony from being a joyous celebration of the special relationships that form between teacher mentors and pre-service teachers.

The winners of the the 2020 UC Faculty of Education Mentor Awards were:

Mentor Nominating StudentSchool

Faith Bentley

Claire Rummery

Ainslie School

Martin Desmit

Dylan Hunt

Mount Stromlo High School

Luke McKinnon

Jordan Harrison

Canberra College

Aaron FOY

Maryam Karimi Hasnijeh

Evatt Primary School

Sharaine Talip

Lynne Corbett

Orana Steiner School

2020 Mentor award winners