Filter articles by:
Date published
Article keywords
Article type

Sport Walk of Fame opened at UC

Elly Mackay

18 November 2022: Twenty-two members of the University of Canberra community have been inducted into the brand-new Sport Walk of Fame, which was launched at a luncheon on campus today.

The Walk of Fame, which was created in alignment with the University of Canberra Sports Strategy, spans the walkway bridge between the Refectory and The Sports Hub.

The 2022 inductees include athletes, administrators, referees, researchers, and journalists – showcasing the variety of professions that can contribute to the sporting realm.

University of Canberra Director of Sport Carrie Graf said the Walk of Fame represents the University’s commitment to becoming a leading university for sports education and research.

“We are continuing to work towards being internationally renowned for our collaborations, innovation, and technology in the sporting space,” she said.

“Sport lies at the heart of UC, and is part of our history, present and future.”

As well as a variety of professionals being named in the 2022 cohort, they also represent many sporting disciplines including AFL, running, rowing, rugby, basketball and more.

Ms Graf said it is a reflection of the significant depth of skill among not only the inductees, but University of Canberra alumni as a whole.

“It was an onerous task to trim a list of 50 plus candidates down to just 22 for this inaugural class of inductees,” she said.

“For us we’re incredibly proud of all the alumni from UC, particularly in the sports space, and that their impact in sport nationally and internationally, and certainly also on this institution has been huge.

“We’re proud to induct this ‘class of 2022’ and we’re looking forward to seeing the Sport Walk of Fame expand into the future.”

The Walk of Fame project is just one of many new upgrades and installations on the campus as part of the Sport Strategy.

Vice-Chancellor and President Paddy Nixon said the instalment is testament to the ongoing success of University of Canberra graduates in the sporting realm.

“Our graduates – whether they studied something sports related or not – are contributing to the world of sport in a significant way,” he said.

“I think it’s important to remember that it’s not only athletes who are involved in that world, and that without the referees, researchers, and administrators, there would be no such thing as sport.”

Inductees were recognised at the luncheon, where many were joined by friends and family.

“It was wonderful to welcome many of this year’s inductees back on to our campus – which I’m sure has changed significantly since some of them were last here – and showcase to them our state-of-the-art sporting facilities,” Professor Nixon said.

“In line with our Sport Strategy, I hope those facilities will continue to grow and serve our community into the future.”

2022 Sports Walk of Fame inductees

Andrew Friend – Rugby Coach

Benita Willis – Distance Running

Bridget Tilley – Journalism

Craig McLatchey – Sports Administration

David Pyne – Sports Science

Evan O’Hanlon – Athletics

George Gregan – Rugby Union

Greg Blood – Sports History

Heather Reid – Sports Administration

Lauren Jackson – Basketball

Louise Burrows – Rugby Union

Matthew Favier – Sports Administration

Megan Marcks – Rowing

Nathan Deakes – Race Walking

Nicole Arrold – Hockey

Paul Smith – Sports Administration

Paul Thompson – Rowing Coach

Petria Thomas – Swimming

Philippe Rizzo – Gymnastics

Raymond Chamberlain – AFL Umpire

Richard Nicholson – Powerlifting and Athletics

Sarah Cook - Rowing