Filter articles by:
Date published
Article keywords
Article type

UC highlights outstanding staff achievements at Vice-Chancellor’s Excellence Awards

Danielle Meddemmen

7 December 2021: The University of Canberra has acknowledged the contributions of some of its top performing staff of 2021 in the Vice-Chancellor’s Excellence Awards ceremony held this afternoon.

The annual event is held in recognition of staff members who perform outstandingly in line with the University’s strategic plan, and announces the winners of the Reconciliation, Researcher of the Year, Educator of the Year, Professional of the Year, and Chancellor's UC Citizen of the Year awards.

While the ceremony celebrates those specific achievements, the University’s Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Paddy Nixon said it was important to acknowledge all staff working at the University this year.

“This has been another challenging year for our staff, especially with a nine-week lockdown here in Canberra,” he said.

“Although unsurprisingly, our UC community has shown amazing resilience and commitment to this organisation and it’s important to recognise all of our staff for their contributions in 2021.”

The ceremony was held in a virtual format due to COVID-19 constraints, with a plan to present winners with their award certificates upon return to the Bruce campus.

Following her achievement as Professional of the Year in 2020, Manager of Work Integrated Learning at UC Careers, Erin Stacey, proudly emceed the event.

“Being recognised by my peers and receiving the Professional of the Year award last year was one of my career highlights,” she said.

“I have worked at UC for nearly nine years now in our Careers office and thoroughly enjoy being able to collaborate with others to make it the best environment for our students each day.

“The awards today have showcased some extraordinary people here at UC, and I am proud to be celebrating their achievements with them.”

All staff were invited to attend the virtual ceremony and celebrate the winners, which included a special video presentation of photos taken in lockdown through the Click and Connect program.

A full list of winners can be found below;

Award winners

Professional of the Year – Rachel Overton,Student Accommodation Manager

Reconciliation Award – Geoff Murray, Alahna Lewis, Irfan Haider, Katherine Ashley, Syed Humayun (The Campus Estate Advancing Indigenous Procurement Delivery Team)

Researcher of the Year – Professor Debra Rickwood, Professor of Psychology

Educator of the Year – Dr Jaquelin Bousie, Assistant Professor in Physiotherapy

Chancellor’s UC Citizen of the Year Award – Dr Cathy Hope, Associate Professor Faculty of Arts and Design

Special acknowledgements

Scott Byrne – Security Helpdesk

Meaghan Butler - Executive Officer, Academic Office

Sarah Jennett and the UCX Food Pantry team

Dr Jenny Weekes and the Medical & Counselling team