Print this page

Semesters, Winter Term, Principal Dates

Academic calendar dates for University of Canberra students, including semester dates, class free periods, examination periods, and Australian Capital Territory public holidays.

Notes

  • School holidays not taken into account.
  • All public holiday dates are accurate at the time of publication, but may be subject to change.
  • For students studying in partner locations - public holidays in states other than the ACT will be applied to the respective state.
  • The University of Canberra reserves the right to periodically review the academic calendar. Any changes to the structure of the academic calendar will generally be made with at least one year's notice.

Dates by Year

2020

Summer Semester, 2020
Week 1 - 302 December - 20 December 2019
Week 4 (Class Free Period)23 December - 27 December 2019
Census Date10 January 2020
Week 5 - 930 December 2019 - 31 January 2020
Semester 1, 2020
Orientation 3 February - 7 February 2020
Weeks 1 - 7 10 February - 27 March 2020
Census Date6 March 2020
Week 8 (Class Free Period) 30 March - 3 April 2020
Week 9 (Extended Class Free Period)6 April - 10 April 2020
Weeks 10 - 1313 April - 8 May 2020
Week 14 (Additional Week of Classes)11 May - 15 May 2020
Weeks 15 - 16 (Online Examination Period) 18 May - 30 May 2020
Results released via MyUC11 June 2020
Winter Term 2020 - Remote Teaching
Weeks 1 - 7 2 June - 17 July 2020
Census Date19 June 2020
Weeks 8 - 9 (Online Examination Period) 20 July - 31 July 2020
Results released via MyUC10 August 2020
Semester 2, 2020
Orientation 27 July - 31 July 2020
Weeks 1 - 7 3 August - 18 September 2020
Census Date28 August 2020
Week 8 (Class Free Period) 21 September - 25 September 2020
Weeks 9 - 13 28 September - 30 October 2020
Weeks 14 - 15 (Examination Period) 2 November - 14 November 2020
Results released via MyUC23 November 2020
2020 dates to note
Monday 27 January Australia Day (Observed)
Monday 9 March Canberra Day
Friday 10 April Good Friday
Monday 13 April Easter Monday
Monday 27 April Anzac Day
Monday 18 May Online Examinations begin (Semester 1)
Monday 1 JuneReconciliation Day
Monday 8 June Queen's Birthday
Thursday 11 JuneResults released (Semester 1)
Monday 20 July Online Examinations begin (Winter Term)
Monday 10 August Results released (Winter Term)
Monday 21 September Conferral of Awards
Monday 5 October Labour Day
Friday 23 October Stone Day
Monday 2 November Examinations begin (Semester 2)
Monday 23 November Results released (Semester 2)

2021

Summer Semester, 2021
Week 1 - 330 November - 18 December 2020
Week 4 (Class Free Period)21 December - 25 December 2020
Census Date08 January 2021
Week 5 - 928 December 2020 - 29 January 2021
Semester 1, 2021
Orientation 1 February - 5 February 2021
Weeks 1 - 7 8 February - 26 March 2021
Census Date5 March 2021
Week 8 (Class Free Period)29 March - 1 April 2021
Week 9 - 135 April - 7 May 2021
Weeks 14 - 15 (Examination Period) 10 May - 22 May 2021
Results released via MyUC1 June 2021
Winter Term, 2021
Weeks 1 - 7 31 May - 16 July 2021
Census Date11 June 2021
Weeks 8 - 9 (Examination Period)19 July - 31 July 2021
Results released via MyUC9 August 2021
Semester 2, 2021
Orientation 26 July - 30 July 2021
Weeks 1 - 7 2 August - 17 September 2021
Census Date27 August 2021
Week 8 (Class Free Period) 20 September - 24 September 2021
Weeks 9 - 13 27 September - 29 October 2021
Weeks 14 - 15 (Examination Period) 1 November - 13 November 2021
Results released via MyUC22 November 2021
2021 dates to note
Monday 26 January Australia Day
Monday 8 March Canberra Day
TBA Graduation Ceremonies
Friday 2 April Good Friday
Monday 5 April Easter Monday
Monday 25 April Anzac Day
Monday 10 May Examinations begin (Semester 1)
Monday 31 MayReconciliation Day
Tuesday 1 June Results released (Semester 1)
Monday 14 June Queen's Birthday
Monday 19 July Examinations begin (Winter Term)
Monday 9 August Results released (Winter Term)
TBA Graduation Ceremonies
Monday 4 October Labour Day
Friday 29 October Stone Day
Monday 1 November Examinations begin (Semester 2)
Monday 22 November Results released (Semester 2)