Print this page

Important Dates for Applications and Enrolments

Important administrative dates for University of Canberra students, including application and enrolment dates, census dates, and graduation ceremony dates.

Disclaimer: The information available on this page is correct at time of publication, and is updated regularly. Please ensure you re-visit this site to confirm important dates.

JAN | FEB | MAR | APR | MAY | JUN | JUL | AUG | SEP | OCT | NOV | DEC

January 2020

Wednesday 1 January (public Holiday) New Years' Day
Thursday 2 January University opens for 2020
Friday 3 January Census Date for Summer Semester 2019/20
  Last day to pay Summer Semester tuition fees without a late fee
  Last day to add Summer Semester units with lecturer approval (late fee may apply)
  Last day to pay your HECS-HELP or Tuition fees for Summer Semester (late fees may apply)
  Last day to submit a FEE-HELP assistance form for Summer Semester
  Last day to submit a HECS-HELP form for Summer Semester
  Last day to withdraw from Summer Semester units without a WD grade and incurring a HECS-HELP or tuition fee liability
Friday 10 January Course Advice Day
Tuesday 28 January (Public Holiday) Australia Day
TBADeferred examination period from Semester 2, 2019 begins
Friday 31 JanuarySummer Semester Teaching Period ends

February 2020

Saturday 1 February Deferred Examination Period from Semester 2, 2019 ends
Monday 3 February Semester 1 Orientation Week Begins
Monday 10 February Semester 1 teaching period begins
Friday 14 February Fees and Payments Due Date for Semester 1
  Last day to pay Semester 1 fees without a late fee
Friday 14 February Last day to add Semester 1 units via MyUC without lecturer approval

March 2020

Friday 6 March Census date for Semester 1
  Last day to add Semester 1 units with lecturer approval (late enrolment fee may apply)
  Last day to withdraw from Semester 1 units without a WD grade and incurring a HECS-HELP or tuition fee liability
  Last day to request intermission (leave of absence)
  Last day to discontinue your studies without academic or financial penalty
Monday 9 March (Public Holiday) Canberra Day
TBA Last day to nominate for Semester 1 and Winter Term course completion for September Graduation Ceremonies
Monday 30 MarchSemester 1 class free period begins

April 2020

TBA Graduation ceremonies
Friday 3 April Last day to withdraw from semester 1 units with a WD grade listed on your academic record (HECS-HELP or tuition fee liability will be incurred)
Monday 6 April Classes resume for Semester 1
Friday 10 April (Public Holiday) Good Friday
Monday 13 April (Public Holiday) Easter Monday
Tuesday 21 April Semester 1 final examination timetable released to staff and students
Saturday 25 April ANZAC Day

May 2020

Friday 8 May Semester 1 teaching period ends
Monday 11 May Semester 1 examination period begins
Saturday 23 May Semester 1 examination period ends

June 2020

Monday 1 June (Public Holiday)Reconciliation Day
Monday 1 June Winter Term teaching period begins
  Semester 1 results released on MyUC and via SMS to a nominated mobile phone
  Unit conveners available for student review of results consultation
Friday 5 June Fees and Payments Due Date for Winter Term
  Last day to pay Winter Term fees without a late fee
  Last day to add Winter Term units via MyUC without a late fee or lecturer approval
Monday 8 June (Public Holiday) Queen's Birthday
Friday 12 June Census date for Winter Term
  Last day to submit a FEE-HELP assistance form for Winter Term
  Last day to add Winter Term units with lecturer approval (late fee may apply)
  Last day to submit a HECS-HELP form for Winter Term
  Last day to pay tuition fees, the Student Contribution Amount (HECS) up-front and the Student Amenities and Services Fee (SSAF)
  Last day to submit a SA-HELP form (for Domestic Australian Citizens - this form can still be submitted but you cannot receive SA-HELP for the Winter Term)
  Last day to withdrawal from Winter Term units without a NW (fail) grade listed on the academic record (HECS-HELP or tuition fee liability will be incurred)

July 2020

Friday 17 July Winter Term teaching period ends
Monday 20 July Winter Term examination period begins
  Semester 1, 2020 Deferred Examination period begins
Monday 27 July Semester 2 Orientation Week begins

August 2020

Saturday 1 August Winter Term examination period ends
  Semester 1, 2020 Deferred Examination period ends
Monday 3 August Semester 2 teaching period begins
Friday 7 August Fees and Payments Due for Semester 2
  Last day to pay Semester 2 fees without a late fee
Monday 10 August Winter Term results released on MyUC and via SMS to a nominated mobile phone
Friday 28 August Census date for Semester 2
  Last day to pay your HECS-HELP or Tuition fees for Semester 2 (late fees may apply)
  Last day to add Semester 2 units with lecturer approval (late fee may apply)
  Last day to submit a FEE-HELP assistance form for Semester 2
  Last day to submit a HECS-HELP form for Semester 2
  Last day to submit a SA-HELP form or pay SSAF for Semester 2
  Last day to withdraw from Semester 2 units without a WD grade and incurring a HECS-HELP or tuition fee liability
  Last day to submit a Semester 2 Scholarship application

September 2020

TBA Last day to nominate for Semester 2 course completion for March 2021 Graduation Ceremonies
Monday 21 September Semester 2 class free period begins
Monday 28 September Classes resume for Semester 2

October 2020

Monday 5 October (Public Holiday) Labour Day
October - TBA Graduation ceremonies
Friday 23 October Stone Day
Friday 30 OctoberSemester 2 teaching period ends

November 2020

Monday 2 November Semester 2 examination period begins
  2020 Winter Term Deferred Examination begins
Saturday 14 November Semester 2 Examination period ends
  2020 Winter Term Deferred Examination period ends
Friday 20 November Last day to apply for 2021 UC Honours Scholarships
Monday 23 November Semester 2 results released on MyUC and via SMS to a nominated mobile phone
Monday 30 NovemberSummer Semester 2020/21 Teaching period begins

December 2020

Thursday 24 December University closes for 2020
Friday 25 December Christmas Day