Filter articles by:
Date published
Article keywords
Article type

UC to host women’s University Sevens Series tournament

Antony Perry

11 July 2018: The University of Canberra has been named as a host venue for the 2018 Aon University Sevens Series.

The country’s best up-and-coming female rugby sevens players will descend on the University in September for round two of the five-leg competition.

University of Canberra Director of Sport Carrie Graf said hosting a tournament was a major coup for the University.

“The University Sevens Series was a huge success in its first year and it is returning bigger and better in 2018,” Graf said.

“The University of Canberra has been part of this fantastic initiative for women’s rugby from the very beginning and we’re thrilled to have greater involvement in this year’s series as a host venue.

“We have some of the best training and performance facilities for rugby in Australia at our Bruce campus, making the University of Canberra an ideal location for the University Sevens Series.”

University of Canberra women’s rugby sevens head coach David Grimmond said a home tournament would work in his side’s favour.

“It’s great for the players,” Grimmond said. “Home ground advantage is big in any sport and the girls will benefit from playing in front of their family and friends. It’s an added incentive.

“We’ve been training on campus this year, so it’s a familiar venue to us and we’ll look to use that to our advantage in September.”

The Aon University Sevens Series has expanded to five rounds in 2018 with the University of Melbourne and the University of Sydney joining the competition in its second year.

Tournaments will also be held in Hobart, Brisbane, Gold Coast and Adelaide. The 10-team series will kick off in August and conclude in October.

2018 Aon University Sevens Series

Round 1

August 25–26, University of Tasmania, Hobart

Round 2

September 8–9, University of Canberra, Canberra

Round 3

September 22–23, University of Queensland, Brisbane

Round 4

October 6–7, Bond University, Gold Coast

Round 5

October 20–21, The University of Adelaide, Adelaide