Filter articles by:
Date published
Article keywords
Article type

University of Canberra celebrates inaugural Sport Walk of Fame inductees

The University of Canberra has taken another step toward becoming one of Australia’s leading sporting Universities, as it honours its exceptional alumni and unveils its brand-new Sport Walk of Fame.

Launched on campus today, 22 alumni were recognised for their contribution to the sports industry, including athletes, administrators, referees, researchers, and journalists.

Aligning with the University of Canberra Sports Strategy, Director of Sport Carrie Graf said the Walk of Fame - which spans the walkway bridge between the Refectory and The Sports Hub - was just one example of the University’s commitment to sporting research and excellence.

“We are continuing to work towards being internationally renowned for our collaborations, innovation, and technology in the sporting space,” she said.

“Sport lies at the heart of UC, and is part of our history, present and future.”

The spread of sport-related professions inducted into the Sports Walk of Fame, spans from athletes to administrators, and is a visible demonstration in the flexibility and transferability of the University’s degrees.

The project is just one of many new upgrades and installations on the Bruce campus as part of the Sport Strategy.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Paddy Nixon said the instalment is testament to the ongoing success of University of Canberra graduates in the sporting realm.

“Our graduates – whether they studied something sports related or not – are contributing to the world of sport in a significant way,” he said.

“I think it’s important to remember that it’s not only athletes who are involved in that world, and that without the referees, researchers, and administrators, there would be no such thing as sport.”

This first round of inductees was trimmed from 50 candidates, down to the 22, with the vision of adding to that list in years to come.

2022 Sports Walk of Fame inductees

Andrew Friend – Rugby Coach

Benita Willis – Distance Running

Bridget Tilley – Journalism

Craig McLatchey – Sports Administration

David Pyne – Sports Science

Evan O’Hanlon – Athletics

George Gregan – Rugby Union

Greg Blood – Sports History

Heather Reid – Sports Administration

Lauren Jackson – Basketball

Louise Burrows – Rugby Union

Matthew Favier – Sports Administration

Megan Marcks – Rowing

Nathan Deakes – Race Walking

Nicole Arrold – Hockey

Paul Smith – Sports Administration

Paul Thompson – Rowing Coach

Petria Thomas – Swimming

Philippe Rizzo – Gymnastics

Raymond Chamberlain – AFL Umpire

Richard Nicholson – Powerlifting and Athletics

Sarah Cook - Rowing