Print this page

Selection Panel 2018

The selection panel for the UC Book of the Year 2017 comprised of eminent academics, authors, scholars and critics charged with the challenge of choosing the most appropriate novel from a short-list of great books:

The University of Canberra appreciates the work of all the panel members:

Professor Nick KlompDeputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), University of Canberra

Professor Nick KlompProfessor Nick Klomp is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at the University of Canberra, responsible for academic policy, teaching and learning quality and enhancement, and student support and equity. He has a Bachelor of Applied Science degree from Curtin University, First Class Honours from Murdoch University and a PhD in ecology from Glasgow University.

Prior to his appointment as Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Klomp was the Dean of the Faculty of Science at Charles Sturt University, leading one of the largest and most diverse science faculties in Australasia. Under his leadership the Faculty enjoyed enormous growth in its research and teaching programs, underpinned by multi-million dollar grants and many new collaborations with government, industry and education providers.

Professor Klomp has won the Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence, was a weekly Science Correspondent for ABC radio for more than eleven years, and has thrice been nominated for the Eureka Prize for the Promotion of Science.

In addition to his extensive teaching career, Professor Klomp is recognised internationally for his research in applied ecology and environmental science, having authored two books and hundreds of publications, successfully supervised more than a dozen doctoral students, and attracted several large nationally-competitive grants.

Professor Jen WebbProfessor of Creative Practice, University of Canberra

Professor Jen WebbJen Webb studied in South Africa, New Zealand, Canada and Australia. She holds a PhD in cultural theory (art and society) and a DCA in writing (creativity and embodiment). She is Professor of Creative Practice in the Faculty of Arts and Design, where she leads research in creative writing. Her academic interests focus on the relationship between artistic practice and society, including how representations are made of human rights issues, conflict and crisis, and how individuals perceive themselves and their lived experience. She also investigates the links between creativity and knowledge, and particularly about how research training can best be conducted in art disciplines.

Jen's research has resulted in a variety of outputs, both creative and critical. Her books include titles on the works of Michel Foucault and Pierre Bourdieu, and on the topics of globalization, visual culture and representation, as well as the collection of poems, Proverbs from Sierra Leone (Five Islands Press, 2004) and the short story collection Ways of Getting By (Ginninderra Press, 2006). Her academic essays, articles and reviews, and her poems and short stories, have been widely published in Australia and overseas, and her artist books exhibited in Australia, New Zealand and Hong Kong. Jen is currently writing a book titled Understanding the body (with Dr Jordan Williams; for Sage Publications, London), and a volume on creative research (for P&H Publications, Cambridge).

Ms Helen Taylor, University Librarian, University of Canberra

Helen Taylor is the  Librarian at the University of Canberra and has worked here since June 2010. Prior to her appointment at University of Canberra Helen was the Collection Services Librarian at UNSW @ ADFA and the Bibliographic Services Coordinator at Australian National University, providing and promoting Library services and collections at both for over 15 years. Helen holds a Graduate Diploma in Library and Information Management from University of Canberra and a Bachelor of Applied Science in Health Education from Canberra College of Advanced Education.

Helen is committed to providing the best Library service to staff and students at the University of Canberra and learning about and leading the integration of new technologies into the future of the library.

Ms Alia Papageorgiou, Media, Social Media and Cultural Affairs officer at the European Union Delegation to Australia

Prior to this she worked as a journalist in Melbourne, Athens and Brussels spending eight years as a European Affairs Editor as accredited press to the EU institutions. Between 2012 -2013 Alia was the Managing Editor of Brussels based New Europe newspaper. She has also freelanced for international outlets such as BBC World, Yahoo Makthoub, Van Daag, the Athens News and worked as a Social Media Editor in the private sector. Her studies were in European Law, International Politics and she is currently working on a Masters in Cybersecurity, Strategy and Diplomacy at UNSW at ADFA in Canberra. She was the organiser of the first Personal Democracy Forum in Brussels, Brussels Twestival 2014 and volunteers on the INYT Athens Democracy Forum held annually to mark Democracy Day in Athens, Greece. Alia is an avid reader and writer and runs the 'Let's Write CBR' meetup at Civic Library as well as presenting at Noted Emerging Writers Festival and being involved in the Canberra Writers Festival; On twitter she is @eurocentrique.

Mr Andrew McGahan, Australian novelist

Andrew McGahan is an Australian novelist. Andrew was born in Dalby, Queensland, but has lived and worked mostly in Brisbane. His first novel Praise (1992) was winner of The Australian/Vogel Literary Award. Since then his writing includes an award winning stage play (Bait) and the AFI award winning screenplay for the movie version of Praise. His second novel was the prequel 1988 (1995), and his third novel Last Drinks (2000) was shortlisted for multiple awards, including The Age Book of the Year and The Courier Mail Book of the Year, and won a Ned Kelly award for crime writing. In 2004 The White Earth was published and went on to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for the South East Asia and South Pacific region , The Age Book of the Year (Fiction), the Courier Mail Book of the Year Award and the UC Book of the year 2017. It was also shortlisted for the Queensland Premier's Literary Awards that same year.