Print this page

UC Book Of The Year 2018: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K Dick  

Published by Hachette Australia

World War Terminus had left the Earth devastated. Through its ruins, bounty hunter Rick Deckard stalked, in search of the renegade replicants who were his prey.

When he wasn't 'retiring' them with his laser weapon, he dreamed of owning a live animal - the ultimate status symbol in a world all but bereft of animal life. Then Rick got his chance: the assignment to kill six Nexus-6 targets, for a huge reward.

But in Deckard's world things were never that simple, and his assignment quickly turned into a nightmare kaleidoscope of subterfuge and deceit - and the threat of death for the hunter rather than the hunted.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Nick Klomp talks to Philip Dick about his book Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

Biography of Author, Philip K. Dick

Philip K. Dick was born 16th December 1928 in Chicago and sadly passed in California on 2nd March 1982.

He was an American novelist who was best known for his science fiction novels and short stories. Philp’s first book published was Solar Lottery in 1954.

During his career, which spanned 3 decades, Philip K. Dick wrote 36 novels and 121 short stories in which 5 novels have since been made into films - Blade Runner, A Scanner Darkly, Minority Report, The Adjustment Bureau and Total Recall.  

Throughout his career, Philip received numerous literacy awards and nominations. In 1963, Philip K Dick was the recipient of the Hugo Award for his novel The Man in the High Castle – this award is given annually to the best science fiction or fantasy work and achievement of the previous year.  He was also awarded the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said in 1975.

Philip was married 5 times and fathered 3 children, 2 daughters and 1 son. A huge achievement for Philip was being inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 2005.

Since 1983, one year after Philips death an award in honour of Philip is awarded to the best original paperback published annually – this award is called the Philip K. Dick Award.

Nominations: Nebula Award for Best Novel 1965, 1968, 1974 and 1982; Hugo Award for Best Novelette 1968; Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel 1983; Locus Award for Best Fiction Novel 1978 and 1982; Nebula Award for Best Script 2003; Locus Award for Best Novel 1975; Locus Award for Best Short Story 1980 and 1981; Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form 2003 and 2007; Prometheus Award for Best Novel 1986; Locus Award for Best Collection 1985, 1986, 1988 and 2003; Retro Hugo Award for Best Novelette 1954; Locus Award for Best Non-Fiction 1990; Jon W. Campbell Memorial Award 1975; British Science Fiction Association Award (BSFA) 1978; Graoully d'Or 1979 and Kurd-Labwitz-Preis 1985.

Awards: Hugo Award for Best Novel 1963; John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best Science Fiction Novel 1975; Tahtivaeltaja Award 1991 and 1993; Hugo Award for Best Dramatic presentation 1983; British Science Fiction Association Award (BSFA) for Best Novel 1978; Graoully d'Or 1979 and Kurd-Labwitz-Preis 1985.  


“A marvellous book” – Brian Aldiss

“The most consistently brilliant science fiction writer in the world” – John Brunner