Print this page

Our Team

Members of the Centre come from diverse disciplines and specialties across the Faculty of Arts and Design and also include Higher Degree Research candidates

Core Members

Jen Webb

Distinguished Professor, Creative Practice

Director, CCCR

Jen.Webb@canberra.edu.au

  • relationship between the field of artistic production and the wider social domain
  • connections between creative practice and human rights; globalisation
  • links between creative practice and research

Paul Hetherington

Professor, Writing

Head, International Poetry Studies Institute

Paul.Hetherington@canberra.edu.au

  • understanding creative practice
  • new publishing technologies
  • autobiographical memory
  • imagery and creativity
  • poetry and life writing

Tracy Ireland

Professor, Heritage, Museums & Conservation

Head, Future Heritage

Tracy.Ireland@canberra.edu.au

  • interpretation, conservation and ethics of archaeology
  • the cultural politics of the past
  • heritage management
  • cultural landscapes
 

Jennifer Crawford

Assistant Professor, Journalism and Creative Writing

Jen.Crawford@canberra.edu.au

  • contemporary creative and experimental writing
  • poetics, environment and the body
  • poetry
 

Tony Eaton

Associate Professor, Creative Writing

Tony.Eaton@canberra.edu.au

  • children's, young adult, and crossover fiction
  • understanding creative practice
  • young and emergent writers
 

Ross Gibson

Centenary Professor in Creative & Cultural Research

Ross.Gibson@canberra.edu.au

  • history of environmental consciousness in colonial cultures, particularly in Australia and the Pacific
  • film studies, digital media and large-screen environments
  • Narrative and memory in placemaking
  • contemporary arts
 

Cathy Hope

Lecturer Communication

Cathy.Hope@canberra.edu.au

  • the history of Australia's alternative media   institutions
  • play and creativity
 

Tim Sherratt

Associate Professor, Digital Heritage

Tim.Sherratt@canberra.edu.au

  • using digital tools to create new cultural experiences and new forms of publications
  • exploring how digitisation projects change our relationship with the past
  • digital heritage
 

Bethaney Turner

Associate Professor, International Studies

Bethaney.Turner@canberra.edu.au

  • Alternative food networks (Community Gardens, Farmers' Markets etc)
  • Human/More-than-Human relationships
  • Digital food cultures
  • Creative ecologies
  • Social Movements
 

Alison Wain

Lecturer, Heritage Conservation

Alison.Wain@canberra.edu.au

  • development of materials conservation practice and conservation science
  • laser in analysis and cleaning of material culture
  • preservation of intangible and digital heritage
  • significance and values of heritage
 

Jordan Williams

Associate Professor

Jordan.Williams@canberra.edu.au

  • Digital poetry and poetics
  • Writing and wellbeing

Associate members

 

Ian Drayton

Faculty Strategic Development Manager
ian.drayton@canberra.edu.au

  • creative arts and trauma
  • research management
Ben Ennis Butler 

Ben Ennis Butler

Lecturer, School of Arts & Communication

  • Data visualisation
  • Digital humanities
  • Interface design
  • User experience
  • Web design and development
 

Raghavendra Gudur

Assistant Professor, Graphic Design

Raghavendra.Gudur@canberra.edu.au

  • cognitive aspects of ageing, older users and interface design
  • designing for diversity/inclusive design methodologies
  • design methodologies for intuitive interaction
  • design pedagogy

Sam Hinton

Assistant Professor, Media Arts & Production

Sam.Hinton@canberra.edu.au

  • computer games and playful media
  • interactive data visualisation
  • social uses of mobile apps
  • cultural interfaces
  • network histories
  • social media

Michael Jasper

Associate Professor, Architecture

Michael.Jasper@canberra.edu.au

  • problems and devices of composition in mid twentieth century architecture
  • historiography of Renaissance architecture
  • The art of city design
  • modernist thought
 

Paul Magee

Associate Professor, Writing

Paul.Magee@canberra.edu.au

  • philosophy and history of aesthetics and   knowledge
  • the relation between poetry and knowledge
  • political theory and cultural studies

Fanke Peng

Assistant Professor, Graphic Design

Fanke.Peng@canberra.edu.au

  • Visual thinking and analysis
  • User experience design
Tahmina Rashid 

Tahmina Rashid

Associate Professor, International Studies

  • Gender & Development Studies
  • Feminism
  • Poverty & Microcredit
  • Migration & Identity
  • Radical Islam
  • Peace & Conflicts
  • South Asian Culture & Politics

Shane Strange

Director, Poetry on the Move

Shane.Strange@canberra.edu.au

  • Short fiction and short fiction writing
  • Cultural representations of the city
  • creative labour and cultural work
  • subjectivity and creative practice
 

Susan Thwaites

Assistant Professor, Media Arts and Production

Susan.Thwaites@canberra.edu.au

  • Cinematography
  • Screen studies
  • Screenwriting
  • Adaptation

Paul Ashton

Adjunct Professor

Paul.Ashton@uts.edu.au

  • public history and digital image

Greg Battye

Adjunct Professor

Greg.Battye@canberra,edu.au

  • creative arts
  • photography

Saskia Beudel

Adjunct Associate Professor

SaskiaBeudel@gmail.com

  • creative non-fiction

Owen Bullock

Visiting Fellow and Sessional Staff

  • poetry

Michael Biggs

Adjunct Professor

  • practice-led research
  • collaborative practice

Steve Burroughs

Adjunct Associate Professor

drsteveburroughs@bigpond.com

  • design and development of alternative housing
  • Architecture

Stephen Cassidy

Adjunct Professional Associate

Stephen.cassidy@myplace.net.au

  • community arts and Community Cultural Development (CCD)
  • creative industries and innovation
  • Indigenous culture

Paul Collis

Adjunct Professional Associate

paul.collis@canberra.edu.au

  • Indigenous culture
  • creative writing

Brian Egloff

Adjunct Professor, Cultural Heritage

Brian.Egloff@canberra.edu.au

  • cultural heritage management

Niloofar Fanaiyan

Visiting Fellow

Niloofar.Fanaiyan@canberra.edu.a

  • poetry including poetic practice across languages and forms
  • dreams and creative practice
  • narrative theory

Merrill Findlay

Adjunct Professional Associate

  • creative writing

Caren Florance

Visiting Fellow and Sessional Staff

 

Michael Grenfell

Adjunct Professor

  • Pierre Bourdieu
  • social research in creative fields

Dianne Firth

Adjunct Associate Professor

Dianne.Firth@canberra.edu.au

  • theory and practice of landscape architecture
  • heritage landscapes
  • landscape and art
  • textile arts

Rosemary Hollow

Adjunct Associate Professor   

rosemary.hollow@canberra.edu.au

  • heritage Studies

Brett Holman

Adjunct Professional Associate
bholman2@une.edu.au

  • history and aviation heritage

Siew Imm Tann

Adjunct Professional Associate

Siew.Tan@canberra.edu.au

  • contact, corpus and historical linguistics
  • world and Aboriginal englishes
  • second-language acquisition
  • educational sociolinguistics
  • corpus-based lexicograph

Subhash Jaireth

Adjunct Associate Professor

subhash.jaireth@gmail.com

  • Russian language and literature
  • creative writing
  • cultural studies

Rina Kikuchi

Adjunct Associate Professor

kikuchi@biwako.shiga-u.ac.jp

  • comparative literature
  • modern and contemporary women's poetry
  • European literature
  • contemporary Irish poetry

Karen Mow

Adjunct Associate Professor

  • public administration
  • higher education
  • research

Patrick Mullins

Adjunct Professional Associate

  • creative non-fiction

Paul Munden

Adjunct 

Paul.Munden@canberra.edu.au
  • development of creative writing as a discipline in UK universities
  • Poetry as a medium for biographical study
  • work of poets and other writers in schools
  • Poetry in partnership with other arts

Satendra Nandan

Emeritus Professor

satendra.nandan@canberra.edu.au

  • Fijian culture and politics
  • creative writing

Affrica Taylor

Adjunct Associate Professor

Affrica.Taylor@canberra.edu.au

  • environmental humanities

Giulio Zambon

Adjunct Professional Associate

Giulio.Zambon@canberra.edu.au

  • digital humanities

Hakim Abdul Rahim

PhD candidate, Cultural Heritage & Museums Studies

Hakim.AbdulRahim@canberra.edu.au

Through a Viridian Lens: Autonomy and Agency in Academic Botanical Collections

Emma Allen

PhD candidate 

emma.allen@canberra.edu.au

 

Monica Andrew

PhD candidate, Cultural Vocations and Creative Communities

Monica.Andrew@canberra.edu.au  

The potential contribution of needlecraft skills to clothing and textile sustainability.

Wayne Applebee

PhD candidate

Wayne.Applebee@canberra.edu.au

The Virtual Tribe: On Becoming Aboriginal On-line

Elizabeth Bellamy

PhD candidate, Creative Writing and Cultural Theory

Elizabeth.Bellamy@canberra.edu.au 

Escaping the whirlpool of shame: obstacles in the journey from isolation to intimacy

Tessa Bell

PhD candidate, Creative and Cultural Practice

Tessa.Bell@canberra.edu.au

An exploration of the relationship between materiality and digital preservation.

Lauren Briggs

Masters of Applied Arts and Humanities (Research)

Lauren.Briggs@canberra.edu.au 

How do intertextual references to non-Australian literature in Australian Young Adult fiction function in relation to national identity and representation in literature?

Louise Curham

PhD candidate, Creative Practice 

Louise.Curham@canberra.edu.au

Tending the archive': exploring the problem of preserving ephemeral cultural heritage in a manner that is meaningful to a community of users or practitioners.

Martin Doolan

PhD candidate, Creative Practice

Martin.Doolan@canberra.edu.au

My research focuses on the mechanisms of memory that are currently accepted in cognitive psychology and on the techniques of lyric poetry as they relate to the depiction of memory: how it is recorded and how it is recalled.

Thomas Gibson

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

Thomas.Gibson@canberra.edu.au

Exploring the concepts of psychological theories of identity development, in particular the theories of narrative identity and the life story model, to deconstruct the presentation of identity in fiction read by Australian adolescents.

Geoff Grey 

PhD Candidate, Cultural Vocations and Creative Communities

Geoff.Grey@canberra.edu.au

The effects of creativity on psychosocial wellbeing for building resilience through improved emotional health in Australian Defence Force (and Emergency Services) personnel.

Donna Hanson

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

Donna.Hanson@canberra.edu.au

My research examines feminism in popular romance fiction and will focus on key themes of agency and/or equality in popular romance fiction from the 1970s, 1980s to the present (realist fiction).

Ashley Harrison

PhD candidate, Cultural and Creative Practice

ashley.harrison@canberra.edu.au

Flight across Country: Visualising connections of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and their communities to aviation in Australia (Heritage of the Air)

Elliot Hartman

PhD candidate 

elliot.hartman@canberra.edu.au

Emotion, perception, and communication: exploring moral perception as a discourse ethic

Rebecca Hawcroft

PhD candidate, Digital Treasures

Rebecca.Hawcroft@canberra.edu.au

My PhD is focused on digitised collections and their ability to connect to places and place values

Christopher Holden

PhD candidate, Cultural and Creative Practice

christopher.holden@canberra.edu.au

The role of Information Architecture in developing sustainable online cultural resource collections

Kerrianne Markulin

PhD candidate 

kerrianne.markulin@canberra.edu.au

My area of study is to produce the life stories of a well-respected Wiradjuri Elder, Aunty Flo Grant, using her voice and the voices of those she has enabled and mentored. The exegesis will examine if/how a non-Indigenous woman can represent the life stories of an Indigenous Elder, whilst leaving the power, privilege and voice with the person being represented.

Ian McHugh

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

ian.mchugh@canberra.edu.au

Australian fantasy fiction as a literature of unbelonging

Tim Napper

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

Tim.Napper@canberra.edu.au

The Chinese Century: Narratives on the Rise of China in the Literature of East and Southeast Asia

Fiona Shanahan

PhD candidate, Cultural and Creative Practice

fiona.shanahan@canberra.edu.au

The Northern Territory’s Heritage of the Air

Shane Strange

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

Shane.Strange@canberra.edu.au

Is there a space for a radical construction of the subject with in the critical literature on creative labour?

Wendy Somerville

PhD candidate

wendy.sommerville@canberra.edu.au

Rummaging for Histories/Stories through Place, Archives and Memories

Jessica Western

PhD candidate, Cultural and Creative Practice

jessica.western@canberra.edu.au

 

Claire Wilson

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

claire.wilson@uni.canberra.edu.au

Poetry writing practice and cultural adjustment: investigating experiences of settling in.

Recent graduates

  • Owen Bullock
  • Monica Carroll
  • Paul Collis
  • Macarena de la Vega de León
  • Niloofar Fanaiyan
  • Caren Florance
  • Mona Soleymani