Print this page


This page contains a list of opportunities for researchers and research students.

Funding Opportunities and Prizes

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellowships

The goal of the Individual Fellowships is to enhance the creative and innovative potential of experienced researchers, wishing to diversify their individual competence in terms of skill acquisition through advanced training, international and intersectoral mobility.

Individual Fellowships provide opportunities to researchers of any nationality to acquire and transfer new knowledge and to work on research and innovation in Europe (EU Member States and Horizon 2020 Associated Countries) and beyond. The scheme particularly supports the return and (re)integration of European researchers from outside Europe and those who have previously worked here, as well as researchers displaced by conflict outside the EU and Horizon 2020 Associated Countries. It also promotes the career restart of individual researchers who show great potential.

Applicants should submit their expression of interest by email to, including CV and a work plan, by 15 June 2018. The deadline for applications is 12 September 2018. More information here.

An Opportunity for Early Career Researchers to participate in an internship in France

Thanks to the Scholarship AINSE/ANSTO French Embassy (SAAFE) Research Internship Program

Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE) |

Applications are now open and close on 1 May 2018

As a result of the MOU signed between AINSE, ANSTO and the Embassy of France in Australia in 2017, PhD students from AINSE Member Universities have the opportunity to participate in an internship in France.

The SAAFE program objective is to facilitate and enhance bilateral collaborative research in nuclear science and engineering between Australia and France. The program supports early career researchers at PhD level to expand research and innovation activities within Human Health, Environment and Nuclear Fuel Cycle, to initiate sustainable research networks and linkages to support Australian and French research and innovation.

Applicants must be:

  • A PhD student currently enrolled in a French or AINSE member university; OR
  • Enrolled in a PhD in collaboration between French and Australian institutions


  • Carrying out a research project which stimulates research collaboration between France and Australian in the following areas:
    • Human Health Research
    • Environmental Research
    • Nuclear Fuel Cycle

Application form and terms and conditions can be found on the AINSE website. For enquires and further information contact the friendly staff at AINSE: | +61 9717 3376

National Library of Australia Fellowships

Applications are now open for the 2019 National Library of Australia Fellowships which support in-depth collection research across a broad range of disciplines. These prestigious funded Fellowships are available to established or emerging scholars from Australia and overseas to undertake 12 weeks of intensive research using the National Library of Australia’s extraordinary 10 million item collection.

Applications close on 30 April 2018 and will be assessed on merit and some Honorary Fellowships may also be awarded.

ICM Agrifood Award for Excellence in Agrifood

Two of Australia’s most innovative young food and agriculture professionals will win the 2018 ICM Agrifood Award.

The ICM Agrifood Award is an early career award for two scientists or technologists who have achieved substantial peer/industry recognition for his/her work in the past five years. The Award is sponsored by ICM Agribusiness, one of Australia’s major agribusiness groups, and administered by ATSE. The winners will be awarded at ATSE’s Innovation Dinner on 13 June 2018, alongside the Clunies Ross Awards.

One female and one male winner will each receive a cash prize of $5000. Applications close midday Friday 13 April 2018.

Training Opportunities

See our calendar.

Innovation Opportunities

Apply now for the Australian-French Entrepreneurship Challenge 2018
The Australian Academy of Science and the French Embassy invite PhD candidates to apply to participate in the third Australian–French Entrepreneurship Challenge. The Australian–French Entrepreneurship Challenge is designed to bring together creative minded PhD candidates to brainstorm innovative ideas right through from concept to creation – all in the space of 24 hours. The third edition of the challenge is organised by Macquarie University, with the support of the Australian Academy of Science, the French Embassy in Australia, and the Australian and French business communities. Further information and the application form can be found here. The deadline for applications is 9am (AEST) Monday 7 May 2018.

UC at FatigueHACK 2018
The Australian Trucking Association (ATA) is bringing the nations brightest innovators to Canberra this April (18-20th) to create disruptive new solutions that tackle driver fatigue in the Australian trucking industry. The 48hr FatigueHACK event sponsored by Teletrac Navman & facilitated by the Canberra Innovation Network aims to completely disrupt current thinking around the way driver fatigue is managed by bringing together developers, designers, industry experts, researchers and regulators. Teams will compete for a prize pool of over $10k with the top 3 teams having the opportunity to pitch to delegates & industry leaders at the national ATA conference on Friday 20th April. If you are up for the challenge, learn more & register your team HERE.

Shark Tank Australia
Have you got a ground breaking idea, invention or business proposal that needs to be taken to the next level? The hit Channel 10 show Shark Tank are taking applications now. To apply visit the website.

Discovery Translation Fund
Do you have an invention or research, that you think should be commercialised? The Discovery Translation Fund is designed to help researchers take their projects with commercial potential forward. Grants can be awarded for up to $50,000 per project, with funding above $50,000 considered for projects of exceptional potential. Think you have a suitable project? Please contact

First Wednesday Connect
Join entrepreneurs, business people, and innovators in Canberra for the first First Wednesday Connect of 2018 on Wednesday 6 February between 5pm and 6.30pm at the CBR Innovation Network.  First Wednesday Connect is free and you will see over 150 people for pitchers, a surprise speaker, drinks and nibbles. Register now.

Main Sequence Ventures
Do you have a Deep Tech innovation or vision that could change the world? Or do you have the skills that could benefit a deep tech start up? Main Sequence Ventures is a venture capital program, launched by CSIRO and funded by the Australian Government, designed to spur Australian innovation and enable world changing visions. Unlike many other venture capital funds, Main Ventures is looking to provide additional value through linking organisations and capabilities to create synergies to realise the untapped potential in the Australian research and innovation environment. Opportunities also exist for researchers to shadow investors and see firsthand what they are looking for. If you are interested in working with Main Sequence Ventures, please contact

Innovation Connections
UC is lucky to have Dr Jacqui Watt visit the campus on the last Monday of every month. Jacqui works to link researchers and business together to solve industry led problems, through government co-sponsored research projects. If you have a business that you are working on a project with, they may be eligible for matched government funding or alternatively, if you have research skills that might help a business, book in and have a chat with Jacqui. Contact for queries.