Print this page

Our Research Students

HIGHER DEGREE BY RESEARCH (HDR) STUDENTS

FA Photo

Fawzia Alosaimy

Thesis Title: Exploring the Use of Snapchat in Family Life in Saudi Arabia

Supervisory Panel: Glen Fuller, Sora Park, Scott Bridges

Contact: Fawzia.Alosaimy@canberra.edu.au
@Fawzia_Rashdan

DA Photo

Dan Andrew

N&MRC & FAD HDR Representative

RTP Stipend Scholarship Recipient

Thesis Title: Selling the Audience: The role of advertisers in the audience marketplace

Supervisory Panel: Kerry McCallum, Glen Fuller

Contact: Dan.Andrew@canberra.edu.au

Nabeela Asghar

Thesis Title: Youth and Hate Speech: Role of Religious Leadership in Shia-Sunni Conflict

Supervisory Panel: Mathieu O’Neil, Tahmina Rashid

Contact: Nabeela.Asghar@canberra.edu.au

Saffron Bianchi-Howden

Thesis Title: Reducing the impact of disinformation and misinformation: Innoculation vs factchecking

Supervisory Panel: Sora Park, Caroline Fisher, Jee Young Lee

Contact: XX@canberra.edu.au
@saffronhowden

Xiaolan Cai

Thesis Title: Open source smart city projects and impacts on civic engagement in Australia

Supervisory Panel: Mathieu O’Neil, Barbara Norman

Contact:
@XiaolanSharon

Mona Chatskin

RTP Stipend Scholarship Recipient

Thesis Title: Cases of Alleged Jewish Institutional Child Sex Abuse in Australian Mainstream and Religious Media: Malka Leifer in News Landscapes

Supervisory Panel: Kerry McCallum, David Nolan

Contact: Mona.Chatskin@canberra.edu.au

Paul Conroy

Thesis Title: The Media's Role in the Politics of Contemporary Serious Police Misconduct in Australia

Supervisory Panel: David NolanKate Holland, Kerry McCallum

Contact:
@pabloabc123

Emma John

‘Breaking Silences’ Scholarship Recipient

Thesis Title: Different Voices: A critical discourse analysis of the ABC's coverage of Australia's Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse

Supervisory Panel: Kerry McCallum, Caroline Fisher

Contact: Emma.John@canberra.edu.au

Lidia Kelly

RTP Stipend Scholarship Recipient

Thesis Title: Capturing Crimea, Construing Hong Kong: Challenges and Constraints for Foreign Correspondents in Contemporary Territorial Conflicts

Supervisory Panel: David Nolan, Caroline Fisher, Kerry McCallum, Peter Putnis

Contact: Lidia.Kelly@canberra.edu.au
@LidKelly

Zorana Kostic

Thesis Title: Broadcasting Digitalization in Japan: The Case Study of the Japanese Broadcasting Corporation (NHK) and its Role and Regulatory Practice between 2000-2020.

Supervisory Panel: Kerry McCallum, Caroline Fisher

Contact: Zorana.Kostic@canberra.edu.au

Natalie Larkins

Thesis Title: Disconnect Between Normative Ideals of Journalism and Practice in Australia

Supervisory Panel: Caroline Fisher, Kerry McCallum, David Nolan

Contact: Natalie.Larkins@canberra.edu.au

Kania Mayastika

Thesis Title: Designing Culturally Appropriate ESP Materials for Political Science Students in Indonesia

Supervisory Panel: Sora Park, Maya Gunawardena

Contact: XX@canberra.edu.au
@majestykania

AP Photo

Anji Perera

FAD HDR Representative

RTP Stipend Scholarship Recipient

Thesis Title: Connecting the drops - connecting communities: beyond the boundaries of water literacy

Supervisory Panel: Sora Park, Mathieu O’Neil, Ross Thompson, Thomas Mollenkopf

Contact: Anji.Perera@canberra.edu.au
@Anji_perera

SR Photo

Shara Ranasinghe

Thesis Title: Enhancing Patient-centred Cancer Communication during cancer treatment

Supervisory Panel: Kate Holland, Kasia Bail, Sora Park

Contact: Shara.Ranasinghe@canberra.edu.au
@SharaRanasinghe

PR Photo

Prue Robson

Thesis Title: Positioning Canberra: the effectiveness of place image communications in attracting residents to places facing unfavourable stereotypes

Supervisory Panel: Kerry McCallum, Cathy Hope, James Mahoney

Contact: Prue.Robson@canberra.edu.au
@pruerobson

SS Photo

Sonya Sandham

Thesis Title: Overflow: contending with employee voices in organisational discourse in an era of digital disruption

Supervisory Panel: Glen Fuller, Cathy Hope

Contact: Sonya.Sandham@canberra.edu.au
@sonyasandham

Jing Su

N&MRC Stipend Scholarship Recipient

Thesis Title: Talking to a Bot is a turn off: users experiences of chatbot communication

Supervisory Panel: Sora Park, Jee Young Lee

Contact: Jing.Su@canberra.edu.au

Hang Tran

Thesis Title: A Qualitative Research on Framing of Australia's Online News Media in Representing Indigenous Australians' Stories between 2015 and 2020

Supervisory Panel: Kerry McCallum, Sora Park, Wendy Somerville

Contact: Hang.Tran@canberra.edu.au

DW Photo

Danyi Wang

Thesis Title: Negotiating and Integrating Sociocultural Identities Among Chinese Immigrants in Australia

Supervisory Panel: Sora Park, Susan Thwaites

Contact: Danyi.Wang@canberra.edu.au

HONOURS STUDENTS