Print this page

Australian Journal of Labour Economics

The Centre for Labour Market Research (CLMR) holds copyright and publishes the Australian Journal of Labour Economics. This is the official Journal of the Australian Society of Labour Economists.

The Australian Journal of Labour Economics (AJLE) is a forum for the analysis of labour economics and labour relations. It is particularly focused on theoretical and policy developments in respect of Australian labour markets. Interdisciplinary approaches are encouraged.

The AJLE invites submissions of articles in the following areas in labour economics, industrial relations and personnel economics. The following areas are of particular interest:

  • Time allocation, work behaviour and employment determination.
  • Wages, compensation and labour costs.
  • Labour-management relations, trade unions and collective bargaining.
  • Work organization and the sociology of work.
  • Productivity.
  • Income and wealth distribution.
  • Mobility, unemployment, labour force participation and vacancies.
  • Gender, ethnicity, labour market segmentation and discrimination.
  • Population and demography in respect of the labour market.

While contributors to the AJLE are expected to demonstrate theoretical or empirical originality - and preferably both - they should make their work accessible to readers from a non-technical background. Survey articles are also encouraged. Further, as a means of strengthening the integration of theory and practice the AJLE welcomes reflective contributions from practitioners. The AJLE recognises that the areas of labour economics and labour relations are subject to controversy and aims to provide an arena for debate.

The CLMR will be administered through the University of Canberra and the Australian Journal of Labour Economics will be administered by the Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre, Curtin University.

Curtin Business School (AJLE)

Submission of articles should be sent to:
Pat Madden

Managing Editor

  • Phil Lewis, University of Canberra


  • Siobhan Austen, Curtin University

  • Anne Daly, University of Canberra
  • Alan Duncan, Curtin University

  • Boyd Hunter, Australian National University

  • Sholeh Maani, The University of Auckland 

Editorial Board

  • Garry Barrett, The University of Sydney
Bruce Bradbury, The University of New South Wales
William Brown, Cambridge University
John Burgess, The University of Newcastle
Bruce Chapman, The Australian National University
Deborah Cobb-Clark, The University of Melbourne
  • Peter Dawkins, Victoria University
Michael Dockery, Curtin University of Technology
Denise Doiron, The University of New South Wales
  • Paul Flatau, University of Western Australia

  • Bob Gregory, The Australian National University
Ann Harding, University of Canberra

  • Raja Junankar, University of Western Sydney

  • John King, La Trobe University

  • William Mitchell, The University of Newcastle

  • Charles Mulvey, The University of Western Australia

  • Karen Mumford, University of York

  • Margaret Nowak, Curtin University
David Peetz, Griffith University

  • Jacques Poot, University of Waikato

  • Russell Ross, The University of Sydney
Elizabeth Savage, University of Technology, Sydney

  • Peter Siminski, University of Wollongong

  • Ken Wilson, National Research Foundation (UAE)
Mark Wooden, The University of Melbourne
  • Marie Claire Villeval, University of Lyon