Print this page

Epigenetic and Transcription Regulation Laboratory


  • Associate Professor Sudha Rao (Leader)
  • Dr Anjum Zafar  (Postdoctoral Fellow)
  • Dr Chloe Lim  (Postdoctoral Fellow)
  • Dr Kris Hardy  (Postdoctoral Fellow)
  • Dr Melanie Morris  (Postdoctoral Fellow)
  • Mr Abel Tan (Technical  Assistant)
  • Mr Fan Wu (PhD Student)
  • Ms Sherry Tu (PhD  Student)
  • Mr Chris Sutton (PhD  Student)
  • Mr Robert McCuaig (PhD  Student)
  • Ms Tara Boulding (PhD  Student)
  • Ms Lisa Worley (Honours  Student)

Photo of the Sudha Group researchers


The primary focus of the  Epigenetic and Transcription Regulation Laboratory has been to unravel complex  epigenetic-signatures in transcription programs in the context of the immune  system, as well as to understand the deregulatory mechanisms operating in  cancer settings.


  • Chromatin anchored PKCs  as a novel class of epigenetic enzymes in human disease 
  • Epigenetic regulation in  the context of human T cell memory
  • Crosstalk between  Signaling kinases, epigenome and Cancer stem cells
  • Unravelling chromatin  domains in the context of pancreatic and breast cancer
  • Histone Variants and  viral infection


  • Prof Laureate Peter Doherty, Melbourne University
  • Prof Stephen Turner, Melbourne Univerity
  • Prof Tony Kelleher, UNSW
  • Prof Jane Dahlstrom, Canberra Hospital
  • A/Prof Desmond Yip, Canberra Hospital
  • Prof Robin Harris-Stuart, Canberra Hospital
  • CONCERT members
  • Prof Kum Kum Khanna, QIMR
  • Prof Rajiv Khanna & Dr Corey Smith, QIMR
  • Dr Adele Hollway, Tasmania
  • A/Prof Marco Casarotto, ANU


  • ARC
  • Cancer Council
  • DTF Funding