Print this page

People

Members of the Centre come from diverse disciplines and specialties across the Faculty of Arts and Design and also include Higher Degree Research candidates

Jen Webb

Distinguished Professor, Creative Practice

Director, CCCR

Jen.Webb@canberra.edu.au

  • relationship between the field of artistic production   and the wider social domain
  • connections between creative practice and human rights;   globalisation
  • links between creative practice and research

Paul Hetherington

Professor, Writing

Head, International Poetry Studies Institute

Paul.Hetherington@canberra.edu.au

  • understanding creative practice
  • new publishing technologies
  • autobiographical memory
  • imagery and creativity
  • poetry and life writing

Tracy Ireland

Associate Professor, Heritage, Museums & Conservation

Head, Future Heritage

Tracy.Ireland@canberra.edu.au

  • interpretation,   conservation and ethics of archaeology
  • the cultural   politics of the past
  • heritage   management
  • cultural   landscapes
 

Jennifer Crawford

Assistant Professor, Journalism and Creative Writing

Jen.Crawford@canberra.edu.au

  • contemporary creative and experimental writing
  • poetics, environment and the body
  • poetry
 

Teresa Crea

Research Associate

teresa.crea@internode.on.net
  • digitally augmented environments
  • applied narrative and writing
  • simulation and dramaturgy
 

Adam Dickerson

Assistant Professor, Communication

Adam.Dickerson@canberra.edu.au

  • comparisons between Eastern and Western philosophy
  • philosophy of language
  • history of philosophy
  • epistemology
 

Tony Eaton

Associate Professor, Creative Writing

Tony.Eaton@canberra.edu.au

  • children's, young adult, and crossover fiction
  • understanding creative practice
  • young and emergent writers
 

Ross Gibson

Centenary Professor in Creative & Cultural Research

Ross.Gibson@canberra.edu.au

  • history of environmental consciousness in colonial   cultures, particularly in Australia and the Pacific
  • film studies, digital media and large-screen environments
  • Narrative and memory in placemaking
  • contemporary arts
 

Raghavendra Gudur

Assistant Professor, Graphic Design

Raghavendra.Gudur@canberra.edu.au

  • cognitive aspects of ageing, older users and interface   design
  • designing for diversity/inclusive design methodologies
  • design methodologies for intuitive interaction
  • design pedagogy
 

Scott Heyes

Associate Professor, Cultural Heritage

Scott.Heyes@canberra.edu.au

  • Indigenous, cultural and heritage landscapes and   seascapes
  • historical modification of the land by Indigenous   Australians
  • ethnographic research methods
  • anthropology of landscape
  • virtual storytelling
 

Sam Hinton

Assistant Professor, Media Arts & Production

Sam.Hinton@canberra.edu.au

  • computer games and playful media
  • interactive data visualisation
  • social uses of mobile apps
  • cultural interfaces
  • network histories
  • social media
 

Cathy Hope

Lecturer Communication

Cathy.Hope@canberra.edu.au

  • the history of Australia's alternative media   institutions
  • play and creativity
 

Michael Jasper

Associate Professor, Architecture

Michael.Jasper@canberra.edu.au

  • problems and devices of composition in mid twentieth   century architecture
  • historiography of Renaissance architecture
  • The art of city design
  • modernist thought
Ursa Komac 

Ursa Komac

Assistant Professor, Architecture

Ursa.Komac@canberra.edu.au

  • Architecture and the City
  • Public Space
  • Heritage
  • Architectural Education
 

Paul Magee

Associate Professor, Writing

Paul.Magee@canberra.edu.au

  • philosophy and history of aesthetics and   knowledge
  • the   relation between poetry and knowledge
  • political   theory and cultural studies
Paul Munden 

Paul Munden

Postdoctoral Fellow, Journalism and Creative Writing

Paul.Munden@canberra.edu.au
  • development of creative writing as a discipline in UK universities
  • Poetry as a medium for biographical study
  • work of poets and other writers in schools
  • Poetry in partnership with other arts
 

Fanke Peng

Assistant Professor, Graphic Design

Fanke.Peng@canberra.edu.au

  • Visual thinking and analysis
  • User experience design
 

Tim Sherratt

Associate Professor, Digital Heritage

Tim.Sherratt@canberra.edu.au

  • using digital   tools to create new cultural experiences and new forms of publications
  • exploring how digitisation projects change our   relationship with the past
  • digital heritage
 

Shane Strange

Teaching Fellow, Writing

Shane.Strange@canberra.edu.au
  • Short fiction and short fiction writing
  • Cultural representations of the city
  • creative labour and cultural work
  • subjectivity and creative practice
 

Susan Thwaites

Assistant Professor, Media Arts and Production

Susan.Thwaites@canberra.edu.au

  • Cinematography
  • Screen   Studies
  • Screenwriting
  • Adaptation
 

Bethaney Turner

Assistant Professor, International Studies

Bethaney.Turner@canberra.edu.au

  • Alternative food networks (Community Gardens, Farmers'   Markets etc)
  • Human/More-than-Human relationships
  • Digital food cultures
  • Creative ecologies
  • Social Movements
 

Alison Wain

Lecturer, Heritage Conservation

Alison.Wain@canberra.edu.au

  • development of materials conservation practice and   conservation science
  • laser in analysis and cleaning of material culture
  • preservation of intangible and digital heritage
  • significance and values of heritage
 

Jordan Williams

Associate Professor

Associate Dean Postgraduate Studies

Jordan.Williams@canberra.edu.au

  • Digital poetry and poetics
  • Writing and wellbeing

Paul Ashton

Adjunct Professor

Paul.Ashton@uts.edu.au

  • public history and digital image

Greg Battye

Adjunct Professor

Greg.Battye@canberra,edu.au

  • creative arts
  • photography

Saskia Beudel 

Adjunct Associate Professor

SaskiaBeudel@gmail.com

  • creative non-fiction

Owen Bullock

Donald Horne Creative & Cultural Fellow

  • poetry

Michael Biggs

Adjunct Professor

  • practice-led research
  • collaborative practice

Steve Burroughs

Adjunct Associate Professor

drsteveburroughs@bigpond.com

  • design and development of alternative housing
  • Architecture

Stephen Cassidy

Adjunct Professional Associate

Stephen.cassidy@myplace.net.au

  • community arts and Community Cultural Development (CCD)
  • creative industries and innovation
  • Indigenous culture

Paul Collis 

Adjunct Professional Associate

paul.collis@canberra.edu.au

  • Indigenous culture
  • creative writing

Brian Egloff

Adjunct Professor, Cultural Heritage

Brian.Egloff@canberra.edu.au

  • cultural heritage management

Niloofar Fanaiyan

Visiting Fellow

Niloofar.Fanaiyan@canberra.edu.a

  • poetry including poetic practice across languages and forms
  • dreams and creative practice
  • narrative theory

Merrill Findlay

Adjunct Professional Associate

  • creative writing

Caren Florance

Donald Horne Creative & Cultural Fellow

 

Michael Grenfell

Adjunct Professor

  • Pierre Bourdieu
  • social research in creative fields

Dianne Firth

Adjunct Associate Professor

Dianne.Firth@canberra.edu.au

  • theory and practice of landscape architecture
  • heritage landscapes
  • landscape and art
  • textile arts

Rosemary Hollow

Adjunct Associate Professor   

rosemary.hollow@canberra.edu.au

  • heritage Studies

Brett Holman

Adjunct Professional Associate
bholman2@une.edu.au

  • history and aviation heritage

Siew Imm Tann

Adjunct Professional Associate

Siew.Tan@canberra.edu.au

  • contact, corpus and historical linguistics
  • world and Aboriginal englishes
  • second-language acquisition
  • educational sociolinguistics
  • corpus-based lexicograph

Subhash Jaireth

Adjunct Associate Professor

subhash.jaireth@gmail.com

  • Russian language and literature
  • creative writing
  • cultural studies

Rina Kikuchi

Visiting Fellow

kikuchi@biwako.shiga-u.ac.jp

  • comparative literature
  • modern and contemporary women's poetry
  • European literature
  • contemporary Irish poetry

Karen Mow 

Adjunct Associate Professor

  • public administration
  • higher education
  • research

Patrick Mullins

Adjunct Professional Associate

  • creative non-fiction

Satendra Nandan

Emeritus Professor

satendra.nandan@canberra.edu.au

  • Fijian culture and politics
  • creative writing

Affrica Taylor 

Adjunct Associate Professor

Affrica.Taylor@canberra.edu.au

  • environmental humanities

Giulio Zambon 

Adjunct Professional Associate

Giulio.Zambon@canberra.edu.au

  • digital humanities

Hakim Abdul Rahim

PhD candidate, Cultural Heritage & Museums Studies

Hakim.AbdulRahim@canberra.edu.au

Rethinking the Botanical Specimen: The implications of entangling Critical Plant Studies into the material culture of academic botanical collections.

Monica Andrew

PhD candidate, Cultural Vocations and Creative Communities

Monica.Andrew@canberra.edu.au  

The potential contribution of needlecraft skills to clothing and textile sustainability.

Wayne Applebee

PhD candidate

Wayne.Applebee@canberra.edu.au

The Virtual Tribe: On Becoming Aboriginal On-line

Elizabeth Bellamy

PhD candidate, Creative Writing and Cultural Theory

Elizabeth.Bellamy@canberra.edu.au 

Escaping the whirlpool of shame: obstacles in the journey from isolation to intimacy

Tessa Bell

PhD candidate, Creative and Cultural Practice

Tessa.Bell@canberra.edu.au

An exploration of the relationship between materiality and digital preservation.

Lauren Briggs

Masters of Applied Arts and Humanities (Research)

Lauren.Briggs@canberra.edu.au 

How do intertextual references to non-Australian literature in Australian Young Adult fiction function in relation to national identity and representation in literature?

Louise Curham

PhD candidate, Creative Practice 

Louise.Curham@canberra.edu.au

Tending the archive': exploring the problem of preserving ephemeral cultural heritage in a manner that is meaningful to a community of users or practitioners.

Martin Doolan

PhD candidate, Creative Practice

Martin.Doolan@canberra.edu.au

My research focuses on the mechanisms of memory that are currently accepted in cognitive psychology and on the techniques of lyric poetry as they relate to the depiction of memory: how it is recorded and how it is recalled.

Thomas Gibson

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

Thomas.Gibson@canberra.edu.au

Exploring the concepts of psychological theories of identity development, in particular the theories of narrative identity and the life story model, to deconstruct the presentation of identity in fiction read by Australian adolescents.

Geoff Grey 

PhD Candidate, Cultural Vocations and Creative Communities

Geoff.Grey@canberra.edu.au

The effects of creativity on psychosocial wellbeing for building resilience through improved emotional health in Australian Defence Force (and Emergency Services) personnel.

Beaux Guarini

PhD candidate, Humanities (Museum Studies)

Beaux.Guarini@canberra.edu.au

This project explores the gap in knowledge between understanding how authentic museum objects versus those acquired for educative purposes as well as replicas and reproductions affect the sensory, social, emotional and intellectual responses of adults with vision impairment.

Donna Hanson

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

Donna.Hanson@canberra.edu.au

My research examines feminism in popular romance fiction and will focus on key themes of agency and/or equality in popular romance fiction from the 1970s, 1980s to the present (realist fiction).

Rebecca Hawcroft

PhD candidate, Digital Treasures

Rebecca.Hawcroft@canberra.edu.au

My PhD is focused on digitised collections and their ability to connect to places and place values.

Robyn Higgins

PhD candidate, Creative Practice

Robyn.Higgins@canberra.edu.au

An adaption of the critical practice framework of Cultural Safety (as defined by the Nursing Council of New Zealand) from its application in the health sector to the Australian arts sector.

Ian McHugh

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

ian.mchugh@canberra.edu.au

Australian fantasy fiction as a literature of unbelonging

Tim Napper

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

Tim.Napper@canberra.edu.au

The Chinese Century: Narratives on the Rise of China in the Literature of East and Southeast Asia.

Rhonda Nicholls

PhD candidate, Cultural Heritage

Rhonda.Nicholls@canberra.edu.au

Exploring Fijian children's sense of place, home and displacement after Hurricane Winston through stories, drawings and Talanoa.

Shane Strange

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

Shane.Strange@canberra.edu.au

Is there a space for a radical construction of the subject with in the critical literature on creative labour?

Wendy Somerville

PhD candidate

wendy.sommerville@canberra.edu.au

Rummaging for Histories/Stories through Place, Archives and Memories

Macarena de la Vega de León

PhD candidate, Architecture

Macarena.DeLaVegaDeLeon@canberra.edu.au

The contribution of William Curtis to the historiography of modern architecture.

Claire Wilson

PhD candidate, Creative Writing

claire.wilson@uni.canberra.edu.au

Poetry writing practice and cultural adjustment: investigating experiences of settling in.

Recent graduates

  • Owen Bullock
  • Monica Carroll
  • Paul Collis
  • Niloofar Fanaiyan
  • Caren Florance
  • Mona Soleymani