Print this page

Training Schedule for 3MT

The research you do today or in the future, potentially has the power to change people’s lives – but only if they know about it and understand how it applies to them.

In an article in the Canberra Times on 22 April 2017, University of Canberra scientist, Dr Janine Deakin ranked communication skills as the number one ‘soft skill’ needed by researchers and academics because it can ensure your work gets heard.

The UC Three Minute Thesis (3MT) and Pitch for Funds (P4F) program (below) is a research communication training ground, where you will learn how to get your research on the radar of potential customers, supporters and beneficiaries and grab the attention of investors and collaborators.

At the end of the training program there will be a chance to present your research to the public and win prize money.

Date and time

Workshop registration links

Tuesday 30 May
12-2pm

THREE MINUTE THESIS (3MT) and PITCH FOR FUND$ (P4F) launch lunch

Wednesday 31 May
10am-1pm

How to pitch, perform and persuade

Tuesday 6 June
1-4pm

Presenting in English: an introduction to the basics for those with English as a second or other language

Tuesday 13 June
1-3pm

Say it in pictures: how to design a powerful PowerPoint slide

Tuesday 20 June
1-3pm

Creating images to support your research

Thursday 22 June
1-5pm

Speech writing

Friday 23 June
1-3pm

Poster design for conferences

Tuesday 27 June
1-2pm

How to cite academic images

Wednesday 28 June
10am-1pm

Nerves – and how to manage them

Wednesday 28 June
6.30-9.30pm

Crowdfunding workshop – learn, pitch and collaborate (in partnership with Pozible)

Thursday 29 June
1-3pm

Visual communication versus death by PowerPoint

Monday 3 July
9.30am-12.30pm

How to communicate the impact of your research

Tuesday 4 July
1-4pm

Getting your story published in the mainstream media (Part 1)

Tuesday 11 July
12-3pm

Pitches-in-progress: a hands-on workshop to help you write and deliver a research pitch

Wednesday 12 July
10am-1pm

Radio ready – preparing for a media interview (Part 1)

Thursday 20 July
1-4pm

Getting your story published in the mainstream media (Part 2)

Tuesday 25 July
1-4pm

Perfecting your pitch (one-to-one coaching sessions)

Tuesday 1 August
10am-12.20pm

Present like a pro (one-to-one coaching sessions)

Tuesday 1 August
1-4pm

Improvisation tools for communicating research

Wednesday 9 August
1-2pm

Getting your story published in the mainstream media (Part 3)

Thursday 10 August
9.30am-12.30pm

How to pitch, perform and persuade

Wednesday 16 August
10am-1pm

Radio ready – preparing for a media interview (Part 2)

Monday 21 August
1-4.30pm

How to pitch with purpose and connect with an audience

Wednesday 30 August
6.30-8pm

3MT final

Wednesday 4 October
6.30-8pm

P4F final