

UNIVERSITY COUNCIL MEETING NO. CS210

CONFIRMED Minutes of the Special University Council meeting held at 4.30pm on Wednesday 27 May 2020 by videoconference.

IMPORTANT NOTE:

The web version of these minutes has been edited to remove the confidential minutes of the Closed Session and management actions arising from the meeting.

MEMBERS OF THE UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

At the date of this meeting, the following people are the members of the University Council:

Member Professor Tom Calma AO Dr Chris Faulks Professor Paddy Nixon Professor Elisa Martinez-Marroquin Dr Tom Karmel AM Mr Glenn Keys AO Mr Barry Mewett Ms Annabelle Pegrum AM Dr Michael Schaper Mr David Sturgiss Ms Patricia Kelly PSM Assoc Prof Kate Pumpa Ms Melissa Hankinson	Position Chancellor (s11(1)(a)) Deputy Chancellor (s11(1)(d)) Vice-Chancellor and President (s11(1)(b)) Chair, Academic Board (s11(1)(c)) Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d)) Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d)) Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d)) Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d)) Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d)) Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d)) Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d)) Elected Academic Staff (s11(1)(e)) Elected General Staff (s11(1)(f))	Term Commenced 1 January 2014 1 January 2014 6 April 2020 1 January 2020 19 November 2018 1 July 2017 21 October 2011 19 November 2018 23 January 2018 9 April 2019 1 January 2020	Term Ends 31 December 2022 30 June 2020 5 April 2025 31 December 2022 18 November 2021 30 June 2020 20 October 2020 18 November 2021 18 November 2021 22 January 2021 8 April 2022 31 December 2021
		•	

PART 1 MEETING OPENING

1.1 WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The Chancellor opened the meeting at 4.32pm with an Acknowledgement of the Country on which all those attending were located and welcomed members and attendees.

Present:

Professor T Calma AO	Chancellor
Dr C Faulks	Deputy Chancellor (left at 5pm)
Professor P Nixon	Vice-Chancellor and President
Professor E Martinez-Marroquin	Chair, Academic Board
Dr T Karmel AM	External Member
Ms P Kelly PSM	External Member
Mr G Keys AO	External Member (from 5pm)
Ms A Pegrum AM	External Member (left at 5pm)
Mr D Sturgiss	External Member
Dr M Schaper	External Member
Assoc Professor K Pumpa	Academic Staff Member
Ms M Hankinson	General Staff Member
Mr A Davidson	Postgraduate Student Member
In attendance:	
Professor G Crisp	Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic (DVCA)
Professor L Sullivan	Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation (DVCRI

	Deputy vice-chancellor, Academic (DVCA)
Professor L Sullivan	Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation (DVCRI)
Ms V Williams	Vice-President, Finance and Infrastructure (VPFI)
Ms W Flint	Chief Executive, People and Diversity (CEPD)
Mr E Wells	General Counsel and University Secretary (GCUS)
Ms S Norton	Deputy University Secretary (minutes) (DUS)
Ms Jennifer Wyborn	Partner, Clayton Utz (Item 5.1)

Apologies:

Mr B Mewett	External Member
Ms E Montgomery	Undergraduate Student Member

1.2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Chancellor called for any declarations of interest in addition to those included in the Register of Standing Interests. The following declarations were made.

• Given the topic of discussion at the meeting Council Member Michael Schaper reaffirmed his standing declaration regarding his wife's role as Director of Human Resources at ANU.

1.3 REVIEW OF AGENDA

There were no changes to the Agenda.

PART 2 CONSENT AGENDA

There were no reports.

PART 3 GENERAL BUSINESS

There were no reports.

PART 4 MATTERS FOR DECISION AND/OR DISCUSSION

There were no reports.

The Council moved into Closed Session.

PART 5 CLOSED SESSION

THE MINUTES OF THIS SESSION ARE CONFIDENTIAL

The Council moved out of Closed Session.

PART 6 MEETING FINALISATION

6.1 REVIEW ACTIONS TO BE TAKEN

There was no additional discussion.

6.2 MEETING EVALUATION

There was no additional discussion.

6.3 NEXT MEETING

The next Ordinary Meeting of Council is scheduled to be held from 9.00am to 4.00pm on Friday 26 June 2020 via videoconference.

6.4 MEETING CLOSE

There being no further business the meeting concluded at 5.13pm.

Signed as a true and correct record:

Professor T Calma AO Chancellor Date