

# UNIVERSITY COUNCIL MEETING NO. CS216

CONFIRMED Minutes of the Special University Council meeting held at 10.30am on Monday 14 December 2020 by videoconference.

## **IMPORTANT NOTE:**

The web version of these minutes has been edited to remove the confidential minutes of the Closed Session and management actions arising from the meeting.

## MEMBERS OF THE UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

At the date of this meeting, the following people are the members of the University Council:

Member	Position	<b>Term Commenced</b>	Term Ends
Professor Tom Calma AO	Chancellor (s11(1)(a))	1 January 2014	31 December 2022
Dr Chris Faulks	Deputy Chancellor (s11(1)(d))	3 July 2020	2 July 2023
Professor Paddy Nixon	Vice-Chancellor and President (s11(1)(b))	6 April 2020	5 April 2025
Professor Elisa Martinez-Marroquin	Chair, Academic Board (s11(1)(c))	1 January 2020	31 December 2022
Dr Tom Karmel AM	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	19 November 2018	18 November 2021
Ms Alice Tay	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	3 July 2020	2 July 2023
Mr Dan Bourchier	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	23 October 2020	22 October 2023
Ms Annabelle Pegrum AM	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	19 November 2018	18 November 2021
Dr Michael Schaper	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	19 November 2018	18 November 2021
Mr David Sturgiss	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	23 January 2018	22 January 2021
Ms Patricia Kelly PSM	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	9 April 2019	8 April 2022
Assoc Prof Kate Pumpa	Elected Academic Staff (s11(1)(e))	1 January 2020	31 December 2021
Ms Melissa Hankinson	Elected General Staff (s11(1)(f))	1 January 2020	31 December 2021
Mr Anthony Davidson	Elected PG Student (s11(1)g)	1 January 2020	31 December 2020
Ms Emma Montgomery	Elected UG Student (s11(1)g)	1 January 2020	31 December 2020

#### PART 1 MEETING OPENING

#### 1.1 WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The Chancellor opened the meeting at 10.40am with an Acknowledgement of the Country on which all those attending were located and welcomed members and attendees.

#### **Present:**

Professor Tom Calma AO Chancellor

Dr Chris Faulks Deputy Chancellor

Professor Paddy Nixon Vice-Chancellor and President

Prof. Elisa Martinez-Marroquin
Mr Dan Bourchier
Dr Tom Karmel AM
Ms Patricia Kelly PSM
Ms Annabelle Pegrum AM
Mr David Sturgiss

Chair, Academic Board
External Council Member
External Council Member
External Council Member
External Council Member

Dr Michael Schaper External Council Member (left at 12pm??)

Ms Alice Tay External Council Member
Ms Melissa Hankinson General Staff Member
Assoc Prof Kate Pumpa Academic Staff Member

Mr Anthony Davidson Postgraduate Student Member

In attendance:

Ms Vicki Williams Vice-President, Finance and Infrastructure (**VPFI**)
Mr Eric Wells General Counsel and University Secretary (**GCUS**)

Mr John Owens Associate Vice-President, Campus Estate
Ms Sheri Norton Deputy University Secretary (minutes)

**Apologies:** 

Ms Emma Montgomery Undergraduate Student Member

#### 1.2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Chancellor called for any declarations of interest in addition to those included in the Register of Standing Interests. No declarations were made.

## 1.3 REVIEW OF AGENDA

There were no changes to the Agenda.

#### PART 2 CONSENT AGENDA

There were no reports.

## PART 3 GENERAL BUSINESS

There were no reports.

# PART 4 MATTERS FOR DECISION AND/OR DISCUSSION

There were no reports.

The Council moved into Closed Session.

## PART 5 CLOSED SESSION

## THE MINUTES OF THIS SESSION ARE CONFIDENTIAL.

# The Council moved out of Closed Session

The Chancellor acknowledged that it was Mr Anthony Davidson's last meeting and thanked him for his contribution to Council over the past year.

# PART 6 MEETING FINALISATION

#### 6.1 MEETING EVALUATION

There was no additional discussion.

#### 6.2 NEXT MEETING

The next Ordinary Meeting of Council is scheduled to be held from 9.00am to 4.00pm on Friday 19 March 2021 via videoconference or in person.

## 6.3 MEETING CLOSE

There being no further business the meeting concluded at 12.20pm.

Signed as a true and correct record	:	
Professor T Calma AO Chancellor	Date	