

# UNIVERSITY COUNCIL MEETING NO. CS213

CONFIRMED Minutes of the Special University Council meeting held at 9.00am on Wednesday 16 September 2020 by videoconference.

# **IMPORTANT NOTE:**

The web version of these minutes has been edited to remove the confidential minutes of the Closed Session and management actions arising from the meeting.

# MEMBERS OF THE UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

At the date of this meeting, the following people are the members of the University Council:

Member	Position	Term Commenced	Term Ends
Professor Tom Calma AO	Chancellor (s11(1)(a))	1 January 2014	31 December 2022
Dr Chris Faulks	Deputy Chancellor (s11(1)(d))	3 July 2020	2 July 2023
Professor Paddy Nixon	Vice-Chancellor and President (s11(1)(b))	6 April 2020	5 April 2025
Professor Elisa Martinez-Marroquin	Chair, Academic Board (s11(1)(c))	1 January 2020	31 December 2022
Dr Tom Karmel AM	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	19 November 2018	18 November 2021
Ms Alice Tay	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	3 July 2020	2 July 2023
Mr Barry Mewett	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	21 October 2011	20 October 2020
Ms Annabelle Pegrum AM	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	19 November 2018	18 November 2021
Dr Michael Schaper	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	19 November 2018	18 November 2021
Mr David Sturgiss	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	23 January 2018	22 January 2021
Ms Patricia Kelly PSM	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	9 April 2019	8 April 2022
Assoc Prof Kate Pumpa	Elected Academic Staff (s11(1)(e))	1 January 2020	31 December 2021
Ms Melissa Hankinson	Elected General Staff (s11(1)(f))	1 January 2020	31 December 2021
Mr Anthony Davidson	Elected PG Student (s11(1)g)	1 January 2020	31 December 2020
Ms Emma Montgomery	Elected UG Student (s11(1)g)	1 January 2020	31 December 2020

## PART 1 MEETING OPENING

## 1.1 WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The Chancellor opened the meeting at 9.01am with an Acknowledgement of the Country on which all those attending were located and welcomed members and attendees.

#### Present:

Professor T Calma AO Dr C Faulks Professor P Nixon Professor E Martinez-Marroquin Dr T Karmel AM Ms P Kelly PSM Ms Alice Tay Mr B Mewett Ms A Pegrum AM Mr D Sturgiss Dr M Schaper	Chancellor Deputy Chancellor (left at 5pm) Vice-Chancellor and President Chair, Academic Board External Member External Member External Member External Member External Member External Member External Member
Assoc Professor K Pumpa Ms M Hankinson	Academic Staff Member General Staff Member
Mr A Davidson	Postgraduate Student Member
In attendance:	
Ms V Williams Mr E Wells Ms Lauren Pinkerton Mr John Owens Mr Hugh Howarth Ms S Norton	Vice-President, Finance and Infrastructure (VPFI) General Counsel and University Secretary (GCUS) Deputy General Counsel Associate Vice-President, Campus Estate Director, Campus Planning and Development Deputy University Secretary (minutes)
Apologies:	
Ms E Montgomery	Undergraduate Student Member

## 1.2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Chancellor called for any declarations of interest in addition to those included in the Register of Standing Interests. The following declarations were made.

• Alice Tay – Steve Flannery (Knight Frank) and David Lamont are both former clients

## 1.3 REVIEW OF AGENDA

There were no changes to the Agenda.

#### PART 2 CONSENT AGENDA

There were no reports.

#### PART 3 GENERAL BUSINESS

There were no reports.

## PART 4 MATTERS FOR DECISION AND/OR DISCUSSION

There were no reports.

The Council moved into Closed Session.

## PART 5 CLOSED SESSION

# THE MINUTES OF THIS SESSION ARE CONFIDENTIAL.

The Council moved out of Closed Session.

## PART 6 MEETING FINALISATION

## 6.1 MEETING EVALUATION

There was no additional discussion.

## 6.2 NEXT MEETING

The next Ordinary Meeting of Council is scheduled to be held from 9.00am to 4.00pm on Friday 23 October 2020 via videoconference or in person.

# 6.3 MEETING CLOSE

There being no further business the meeting concluded at 10.09am.

Signed as a true and correct record:

Professor T Calma AO Chancellor Date