

UNIVERSITY COUNCIL MEETING NO. CS203

CONFIRMED Minutes of the Special University Council meeting held at 4.00pm on Thursday 26 September 2019 in the Council Room, University of Canberra.

IMPORTANT NOTE:

The web version of these minutes has been edited to remove the confidential minutes of the Closed Session and management actions arising from the meeting.

MEMBERS OF THE UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

At the date of this meeting, the following people are the members of the University Council:

Member	Position	Term Commenced	Term Ends
Professor Tom Calma AO	Chancellor (s11(1)(a))	1 January 2014	31 December 2022
Dr Chris Faulks	Deputy Chancellor (s11(1)(d))	1 January 2014	30 June 2020
Professor Deep Saini	Vice-Chancellor and President (s11(1)(b))	1 September 2016	24 December 2019
Professor Dharmendra Sharma AM	Chair, Academic Board (s11(1)(c))	1 January 2014	31 December 2019
Dr Tom Karmel AM	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	19 November 2018	18 November 2021
Mr Glenn Keys AO	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	1 July 2017	30 June 2020
Mr Barry Mewett	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	21 October 2011	20 October 2020
Ms Annabelle Pegrum AM	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	19 November 2018	18 November 2021
Dr Michael Schaper	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	19 November 2018	18 November 2021
Mr David Sturgiss	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	23 January 2018	22 January 2021
Ms Patricia Kelly PSM	Ministerial Appointee (s11(1)(d))	9 April 2019	8 April 2022
Dr Holly Northam OAM	Elected Academic Staff (s11(1)(e))	1 January 2018	31 December 2019
Ms Mara Eversons	Elected General Staff (s11(1)(f))	1 January 2016	31 December 2019
Ms Caroline Gouws	Elected PG Student (s11(1)g)	1 January 2019	31 December 2019
Mr Kieran Heid	Elected UG Student (s11(1)g)	1 January 2019	31 December 2019

PART 1. GENERAL BUSINESS

1.1 Welcome and Apologies

The Deputy Chancellor opened the meeting at 10.00am with an Acknowledgement of Country and the youth of the region and welcomed members and attendees.

Present:

Dr C Faulks

Deputy Chancellor (in the Chair)

Professor D Saini

Vice-Chancellor and President

Dr T Karmel AM External Member (by teleconference)

Ms P Kelly PSM External Member
Mr B Mewett External Member
Ms A Pegrum AM External Member
Dr M Schaper External Member
Mr D Sturgiss External Member

Dr H Northam OAM Academic Staff Member

Ms C Gouws Postgraduate Student Member

In attendance:

Ms V Williams Vice-President, Finance and Infrastructure (**VPF&I**)
Mr E Wells General Counsel and University Secretary (**GCUS**)

Ms S Norton Deputy University Secretary (minutes)

Ms L Pinkerton Senior Legal Counsel

Apologies:

Professor T Calma AO

Mr G Keys AO

Ms M Eversons

Professor D Sharma AM

Chancellor

External Member

General Staff Member

Chair, Academic Board

Mr K Heid Undergraduate Student Member

The Deputy Chancellor acknowledged the apologies received.

1.2 Declaration of Interests

The Deputy Chancellor called for any declarations of interest in addition to those included in the Register of Standing Interests. There were no additional declarations made.

The Council moved into Closed Session

PART 2. CLOSED SESSION

THE MINUTES OF THIS SESSION ARE CONFIDENTIAL.

The Council moved out of Closed Session.

PART 3. REPORTING

There were no matters for reporting.

PART 4. MATTERS FOR DETERMINATION

There were no additional matters for determination.

PART 5. MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

There were no additional matters for discussion.

PART 6. MATTERS TAKEN AS READ

There were no matters taken as read.

PART 7. OTHER BUSINESS

7.1 Matters without Notice

There were no matters without notice.

7.2 Meeting Summation

The Deputy Chancellor provided an overview of the meeting and thanked Council members and attendees for their contributions.

PART 8. NEXT MEETING AND CLOSE

The next Ordinary Meeting of Council is scheduled to be held from 9.00am to 5.00pm on Friday 25 October 2019 in the Council Room, University of Canberra.

There being no further business the meeting concluded at 5.35pm.