Print this page

The Centre for Asia Pacific Community and School Advancement (CAPSCA)

The Centre for Asia Pacific Community and School Advancement (CAPSCA) brings together two major research strengths of the Faculty of Education : The Australian Institute for Sustainable Communities (AISC) and the School Improvement Research Group . An emerging research group, Rural Education and Communities, will provide a further specialised research.

Foundation staff
Director: Professor Barbara Pamphilon
Deputy Director: Professor Moosung Lee

AISC Research Group

  • PNG: Barbara Pamphilon, Katja Mikhailovich, Jo Caffery, Kym Simoncini, Deborah Hill
    (The PNG Women Farmers Business Project)
  • Pakistan: Sandra Heaney-Mustafa, Francesco Sofo
  • Monsoon Asia: Ann Hill
  • Learning institutions: Tiina Roppola

School Improvement Research Group

  • International comparative and cross-national education systems: Moosung Lee
  • Leadership and administration: Bernard Brown, Chris Sarra
  • Teacher professional development: Ting Wang
  • Education policy: Louise Watson

Rural Education and Communities Research Group

  • Rural knowledge and education: Phil Roberts