UC referee scores football award

UC referee scores football award

Kristyn Comino

13 December 2013: A University of Canberra physiotherapist has been ranked as one of the best football assistant referees in the Australasian region.

Allyson Flynn recently won the Asian Football Confederation (AFC)’s Women’s Assistant Referee of the Year.

Allyson Flynn

Allyson Flynn with her award for Women’s Assistant Referee of the Year from the Asian Football Confederation. Photo supplied

“I was very honoured and humbled to win as there are a lot of great assistant referees in Asia,” she said.

“I think it comes down to that I’ve had a positive year and I made some important decisions that were noticed while officiating two recent tournaments: the AFC’s under 19s women’s championship finals in China as well as the qualifiers for next year’s AFC under 16 men’s qualification tournament.”

The 31-year-old received the award at a ceremony on 26 November in Kuala Lumpur in front of both the AFC president and the president of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

Ms Flynn teaches physiotherapy students at the Faculty of Health Clinic and said the University is very supportive of the time and travel involved with her referee duties in Asia through the Football Federation of Australia.

“I’m grateful to the University for being so flexible and allowing me to do this,” she said.

Originally from Moss Vale, Ms Flynn said she wanted to be a referee because “I had a passion for the sport but I referee better than I play! I started refereeing when I was about 20 to stay involved in football and take part at an elite level.”

Ms Flynn is also breaking through the ‘grass ceiling’ as her and fellow Australian award-nominee Sarah Ho are the first female match officials to be selected on an AFC referee’s panel for men’s football: the Men’s AFC Elite Assistant Referees panel.

She now hopes to be selected as an assistant referee for AFC in 2014, including the Women’s Asian Cup in Vietnam and the Women’s World Cup in Canada in 2015.