Skip to main content Skip to navigation

MyUC Portal

If you are having problems logging in, please contact the service desk

Terms & Conditions

The use of the MyUC Portal is governed by the policies and rules of the University of Canberra and appropriate legislation of the ACT and Commonwealth.

Student & Staff Login

Student & Staff Login
Forgotten your password?

Faculty of Business, Government & Law

About Previous Competitions



In 2010 the competition consisted of two general and one final mock trial rounds and hosted twelve teams from eight schools. The teams of Lake Ginninderra College and Marist College qualified for the final round. A highly professional debate was held in the Faculty’s recently refurbished e-Court in front of a panel of three high-profile academics acting as mock trial judges, as a result of which

Photo Reference: Prof. Murray Raff, then Dean of the Faculty of Law, opening the award ceremony
  • the Best Advocacy Team Award was won by the team of Lake Ginninderra College
  • the title of the Most Outstanding Advocate was offered to Mr. Gene Schirripa, a year 10 student representing Marist College

The 5th edition of the competition in 2011 was extended over the entire ACT region, hosting eleven teams from seven schools. The teams competed in three general rounds, with Radford College and Hawker College qualifying for the final held in front of a panel of three professionals from leading Canberra law firms. The winners were announced at the Award Ceremony on the same day, and their prizes were handed out by the 2009-2011 President of the ACT Law Society, Mr Athol Opas. The newly extended list of awards were offered to:

  • Best Advocacy Team: Radford College
  • Advocacy Commendation Team: Hawker College
  • Most Outstanding Advocate: Mr Daniel Ergas (Radford College)
  • Most Enterprising Student: Ms Caitlin Pommer (Merici College)
  • Biggest Improvement in a Role: Mr Ashwin Chandekar (Radford College)
In addition to the student awards, the Most Appreciated Judge title was awarded to Mr Anthony Hopkins (University of Canberra), based on the competing students' feedback Photo Reference: Mr Athol Opas, then President of the ACT Law Society, announcing the winning team


In 2012 a total of 141 students repreenting 19 teams from 14 schools participated to the competition. Canberra Girls Grammar School and a new competitor, St. Mary MacKillop College qualified for the final, judged by Bruce Arnold, Anthony Hopkins and Ann Nicholson.

The awards went to:

Photo Reference: The two qualifying teams with the judges of the final round mock trial.
  • Best Advocacy Team: CGGS2 (Canberra Girls Grammar School)
  • Advocacy Commendation Team: Legal Eagles (St. Mary MacKillop College)
  • Most Outstanding Advocate: Erika Nguyen (Narrabundah College)
  • Best Witness: Alex Quinn (Gungahlin College)
  • Biggest Improvement in a Role: Isabella Ropert (St. Paul's International College)
  • Most Enterprising Student: Michael Jorgensen (Hawker College)