Print this page

About the Awards

The Distinguished Alumni Awards honour and acknowledge our alumni, recognising the outstanding contribution they make to professions and our communities.

The inaugural Distinguished Alumni Awards were held in 2001 as part of the University’s celebrations to mark 30 years of teaching on the Bruce campus. The awards were held again in 2008 to coincide with 40th Anniversary celebrations. Since 2011 the awards have been run biennially.

Meet our Distinguished Alumni Award Winners from 2001 to 2017.

On Saturday 26 October, the 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award winners will be announced at a black tie dinner. Awards will open on 1 May 2019 in the following nine categories:

Chancellor’s Alumni Award
In recognition of outstanding impact and achievement.

Chancellor’s Young Alumni Award
In recognition of leadership and early professional impact.

Chancellor’s Award for Contribution to Sport
In recognition of outstanding achievement in sport and contribution to sport.

Chancellor’s Award for Service & Philanthropy
In recognition of exceptional contribution to society through service and/or philanthropy.

Alumni Excellence Award
In recognition of outstanding achievement in professional practice in four categories:

  • Arts and Design
  • Business, Government & Law
  • Education
  • Science & Technology
  • Health