Filter articles by:
Date published
Article keywords
Article type

Staff, students and alumni receive Aus Day honour

Amanda Jones

30 January 2018: A former University of Canberra Chancellor and a Canberra doctor are among those recognised as part of the Australia Day honours.

A number of staff, students and alumni have been celebrated in the 2018 Australia Day Honours list.

Emeritus Professor Ingrid Moses, who served as Chancellor of the University of Canberra from 2006 to 2011, was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO).

Professor Moses received the award for “distinguished service to higher education through senior academic management positions in Australian universities, and to a range of community and church organisations”.

Dr Vanita Parekh, a forensic and sexual health doctor and Adjunct Associate Professor at the University of Canberra, was named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Dr Parekh was honoured for her “significant service to medicine as a specialist in the fields of sexual health and forensic medicine, as an educator and clinician, and to professional associations”.

Adjunct Professor and alumnus Robin Eckermann received an AM for “significant service to the telecommunications industry” while alumnus John Payne received an AM for “significant service to art conservation and restoration”.

Alumna Dr Robin Jones was also honoured with an AM for “service to the community through support for refugees, as a contributor to social welfare assistance organisations, and to education”.

Alumni Brigadier Mark Brewer, Commodore Mark Hammond, Colonel Andrew Lowe DSM, Brigadier John Mackenzie and Brigadier Simon Welsh became Members in the Military Division of the Order of Australia (AM).

Alumnus Simon Baker was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for “service to athletics, particularly to racewalking” while alumnus David Cossart received an OAM for his “service to youth through Scouts”.

Past students Phillip Green and Susan Weston were awarded the Public Service Medal for “outstanding public service to the electoral system in the ACT” and “outstanding public service in advancing the National Innovation and Science Agenda”, respectively.

Alumnus Colonel Shaun Love received the Conspicuous Service Cross (CSC) for “outstanding achievement in enhancing the strategic, operational and tactical communications capability of the Australian Defence Force”, while alumnus Colonel Peter Connolly SCS received the CSC for “outstanding achievement in enhancing the international engagement of the Australian Army”.

University of Canberra alumnus Dion Devow was also a finalist in the 2018 Australian of the Year having been named the 2018 ACT Australian of the Year last November.

Mr Devow, who completed a Bachelor of Applied Science in Health Education in 1997, was recognised for his clothing label Darkies Design and his work championing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to achieve their business dreams.