Print this page

Environment & Works Committee


  • Supports Council in exercising its governance responsibilities for the planning, development and management of the University's built and natural environments so that the campus supports the University's objectives and is functional, sustainable and aesthetically attractive; and
  • Exercises governance responsibilities on behalf of Council in the oversight of the University's capital development and maintenance program, space utilisation and environmental protection strategies to achieve outcomes which represent quality, value and risk minimisation.

Terms of Reference

The Committee makes recommendations to Council on:

  • the campus master plan;
  • associated policies, plans and guidelines eg. campus development plan, infrastructure plan and the University's Naming Rights Policy;
  • the naming of physical and spatial elements of the campus, including precincts, grounds, buildings, roads, walkways and wayfinding; and
  • significant risks and the mitigation of those risks.

The Committee considers, reviews and advises Council on the implementation of:

  • annual capital development and maintenance program and budget;
  • campus development plan;
  • infrastructure plan; and
  • naming policy.

The Committee approves, on the delegated authority of Council:

  • annual capital development and maintenance program, within the budget established by Council;
  • space utilisation guidelines for University buildings;
  • landscape guidelines;
  • transport and parking plans and policies;
  • naming conventions and signage policy; and
  • environmental protection strategies.

Subject to the reports on approvals being provided to Council, the Chair of the Environment and Works Committee and the Vice-Chancellor approve on the delegated authority of Council development and building design proposals, including exterior design and location, for buildings and facilities located on the University campus.

2018 Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday, 14 March 2018
  • Wednesday,  27 June 2018
  • Wednesday,  19 September 2018
  • Thursday, 22 November 2018


Council Members

Category Member Period of Appointment
External member of Council with relevant experience as ChairMs Joanne Metcalfe11 November 2017 - 10 November 2019
One of two members of Council Ms Sue Salthouse 7 March 2014 - 30 June 2018     
One of two members of Council Dr Holly Northam1 January 2018 - 31 December 2019

Vice-Chancellor & President
(ex officio)

Professor H. Deep Saini 

Attendees with Speaking Rights


One of two coopted advisory members
(nil voting rights)


One of two coopted advisory members
(nil voting rights)

Professor Lyndon Anderson
Dean FAD
28 August 2015 - 26 August 2019

Staff advisory member
(nil voting rights)

Ms Vicki Williams
DVC & VP, Finance & Infrastructure

Staff advisory member
(nil voting rights)

Mr John Owens 


General Counsel & University Secretary            
Mr Eric Wells     
Minutes Secretary Ms Helen Vooren