Print this page

Science

The study of Science at UC provides you with versatility and a wide variety of career options by allowing you to tailor your own general science degree or choose a specific specialist degree within a range of discipline areas.

The specialist disciplines include Environmental Science, Biomedical Science, Medical Science, Pharmaceutical Science, Forensic Studies and Exercise and Sport Science. The more generalist Bachelor of Science offers majors in Mathematics, Chemistry, Biomedical, Biology, IT, Computing Technology, and Earth and Environmental Studies, Physics and Physical Education .  Students interested in secondary teaching are encouraged to undertake our special pathways in science education, incorporating a minor in teacher education with the relevant majors in line with their particular interest/specialisation. A key component for each degree is the professional development offered and work-place training opportunities.

Biomedical Research 

Our collaborative work in theCentre for Research in Therapeutic Solutionsaims to identify and develop novel drugs by studying the molecular mechanisms of specific diseases. CResTS aims to provide a cohesive force for the continued growth of research discovery, development and delivery in Biomedical Sciences; building upon the national and international standing of individuals and groups in the area of immune-therapeutics.

Environmental Research

The  Environmental Science Program and its undergraduate teaching are closely integrated with research and postgraduate training in the Institute for Applied Ecology a leading research centre at the University of Canberra. Research staff are also part of the Murray Darling Basin Co-operative Research Network.

For more information, please visit the Institute for Applied Ecology website.

Forensic Research

Forensic Studies is a multi- and cross-disciplinary area and this is reflected in the broad range of research topics covered by staff within the National Centre for Forensic Studies (NCFS). Research focus areas include the value of forensic science to the Criminal Justice System (CJS) and to national security, with discipline specific strengths in fingermark detection, environmental forensic chemistry, microbiology, DNA profiling, forensic genetics, illicit drug analysis, forensic toxicology, and the analysis of trace materials (including explosives, textile fibres, glass and paint).

The NCFS has several national and international research relationships and staff enjoy international standing in their areas of forensic research interest. The NCFS operates out of well-equipped and purpose-designed specialist forensic facilities and has been successful in attracting Australian Research Council grants. We have research collaborators in many of the operational forensic laboratories around Australia.

Biomedical Careers 

Our courses prepare you for a range of exciting careers:

  • local, state or federal government hospitals and health clinics
  • Science-focused industries e.g.: pharmaceutical industry
  • Local, state or federal government science policy and management e.g.: Therapeutics Goods Administration
  • in support of community-led biomedical and health initiatives.

Many of our graduates go on to further study for a particular career, such as Medicine or Pharmacy, science education in primary or secondary schools, or to become a qualified research scientist (Masters and PhD) in a particular field.

Environmental Careers

Our Environmental Science degree prepares you for a range of exciting and engaging careers in local, state or federal government, in industry, or in support of community initiatives.

Depending on the combination of majors and specialisation, career options include:

  • Environmental Officer
  • Catchment Management Officer
  • Earth Scientist
  • GIS and Data management Officer
  • Water Scientist
  • Wildlife Ecologist
  • Environmental Policy Manager
  • Environmental Rehabilitation Officer
  • Natural Resource Manager
  • Environmental Research Scientist.

Many of our graduates choose to progress to further study to qualify as research scientists (Masters and PhD) in a particular field. 

Professional Recognition

Depending on the approved majors studied, students are eligible to apply for membership of the:

  • Australian Association for Natural Resource Management
  • Australian Institute of Agricultural Science
  • Australian Institute of Geoscientists
  • Australian Society for Limnology
  • Australasian Wildlife Management Society
  • Ecological Society of Australia
  • Environment Institute of Australia & New Zealand
  • National Environmental Law Association
  • Geological Society of Australia.

Career destinations of some of our recent graduates include:

  • Environmental Consultant with URS Australia Pty Ltd
  • Ecologist with a large environmental consultancy firm working out of Darwin
  • Senior Data Acquisition Officer with Geospatial Services, Australian Federal Police
  • Catchment Coordinator (Native Vegetation) with the Central-West Catchment Management Authority, NSW
  • National Resource Project Officer, Terrestrial, with the NSW Department of Environment, Climate Change and Water
  • Project Officer with CSIRO International
  • Wildlife Biologist with the Bawinanga Aboriginal Corporation in Arnhem Land.

Forensics Careers

Courses within Forensic Studies are designed to develop generic, analytical and critical thinking skills that position students to enter a wide variety of occupations in government agencies and science-based organisations. Forensic positions are highly competitive and generally a minimum of an Honours degree is required. UC graduates have a high success rate in gaining forensic employment in part due to the strong industry links of the NCFS and the discipline. Our academic staff members have either been employed in the forensic industry or have spent significant time in operational forensic laboratories.

Staff Member Room Telephone Email
Assistant Professor Regan Ashby 3D52 02 6201 2088 Regan.Ashby@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Nicole Beard 3D40 02 6201 5450 Nicole.Beard@canberra.edu.au
Dr Mike Braysher 3A36 02 6206 3847 Mike.Braysher@canberra.edu.au
Dr Sue Briggs 15 02 6206 8609 Sue.Briggs@canberra.edu.au
Professor George Cho 3B19 02 6201 5650 George.Cho@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Paul Downey 3C29 02 6201 2169 Paul.Downey@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Tariq Ezaz 3C30 02 6201 2297 Tariq.Ezaz@canberra.edu.au
Dr Simon Foster 3C43 02 6201 2540 Simon.Foster@canberra.edu.au
Dr Michael Frese 3D39 02 6201 2243 michael.frese@canberra.edu.au
Dr Michelle Gahan 7D17 02 6201 2079 Michelle.Gahan@canberra.edu.au
Professor Arthur Georges 3C51A 02 6201 5786 Arthur.Georges@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Ashraf Ghanem 3D41 02 6201 2089 Ashraf.Ghanem@canberra.edu.au
Professor Reena Ghildyal 3D51 02 6201 5755 Reena.Ghildyal@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Dianne Gleeson 3C21 02 6201 2237 Dianne.Gleeson@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Bernd Gruber 3B39 02 6206 3804 Bernd.Gruber@canberra.edu.au
Professor Jim Hone 3C32 02 6201 2979 Jim.Hone@canberra.edu.au
Dr Jurian Hoogewerff 7D10 02 6201 5879 Jurian.Hoogewerff@canberra.edu.au
Dr Sharon Kazemi 3B23 02 6201 5941 Sharon.Kazemi@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Dr Tamsin Kelly 7D9 02 6201 2590 Tamsin.Kelly@canberra.edu.au
Dr Jasmyn Lynch 3C40 02 6201 2517 Jasmyn.Lynch@canberra.edu.au
Professor Bill Maher 3C34 02 6201 2531 Bill.Maher@canberra.edu.au
Dr Dennis McNevin 7D8 02 6201 2634 Dennis.McNevin@canberra.edu.au
Professor Ken McQueen 3C41 02 6201 2520 Ken.McQueen@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Leah Moore 3B18 02 6201 5171 Leah.Moore@canberra.edu.au
Dr Michelle Nelson Michelle.Nelson@canberra.edu.au
Dr Susan Nichols 3B31 02 6201 5408 Sue.Nichols@canberra.edu.au
Professor Sudha Rao 3D38 02 6206 8681 Sudha.Rao@canberra.edu.au
Professor James Robertson 7D18 02 6201 2870 James.Robertson@canberra.edu.au
Professor Stephen Sarre 3C22 02 6201 5657 Stephen.Sarre@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Duanne White 3B38 02 6201 2083 Duanne.White@canberra.edu.au
Dr Jim Woolnough 6B27E 02 6201 2259 Jim.Woolnough@canberra.edu.au