Print this page

Education

In line with new national initiatives in teacher education, UC leads the way with our portfolio of new courses designed to cover all stages of teacher development with focused degree courses in Early Childhood, Primary and Secondary Teaching, and combines these with units for key learning areas and course patterns for specific subjects such as Science Technology Education and Mathematics (STEM), English, SOSE, Health & PE, Creative & Performing Arts, Industrial/Design and Technology, and LOTE.

All University of Canberra teaching courses are registered by the ACT Teachers Quality Institute and are recognised as teaching qualifications throughout Australia. They combine teaching theory and an invaluable practical component. Learn more about our Teacher Education Professional Experience program.

Bachelor Degrees

Primary Education

Secondary Education

Graduate Certificates

Research in education informs our teaching and learning, and our teaching and learning informs our research.

The diversity of educational research in the Faculty includes an array of projects related to the enhancement of school teaching, teacher education, educational policy, tertiary teaching and learning, teacher professional development and community education. Of particular note are current large scale research projects nationally and internationally renowned in the areas of inclusive education and community education and development.

  • Teacher education courses prepare graduates to teach in Early Childhood, Primary and Secondary settings. The courses are accredited with the ACT Teacher Quality Institute and therefore graduates are qualified to teach around Australia. Graduates also are well received in international settings.
  • The Master of Education and Master of Education Studies provide the opportunities for professional educators in a range of contexts and settings to enhance and expand their professional knowledge.
  • Our Education Institute develops and facilities a growing number of professional short courses to meet the needs of the education profession.
Staff Member Room Telephone Email
Assistant Prof Sitti Maesuri Patahuddin +61 2 6201 5011 Sitti.Patahuddin@canberra.edu.au
Dr Misty Adoniou 6D10 02 6201 2471 Misty.Adoniou@canberra.edu.au
Ann Hill 6D05 6201 2290 ann.hill@canberra.edu.au
Bernard Brown 6D17 6201 5910 Bernard.brown@canberra.edu.au
Prof Peter Bodycott 6D38 02 6206 8906 peter.bodycott@canberra.edu.au
Mrs Rosemary Butt 6D4 02 6201 5028 Rosemary.Butt@canberra.edu.au
Dr Jo Caffery 6C25 02 6201 5094 Jo.Caffery@canberra.edu.au
Research Professor Barbara Chambers 6C60 02 6201 5141 Barbara.Chambers@canberra.edu.au
Dr Jenny Chesters 6D5 02 6201 5174 Jenny.Chesters@canberra.edu.au
Ms Anita Collins 6D15 02 6201 2197 Anita.Collins@canberra.edu.au
Dr Rachel Cunneen 6D6 02 6201 2067 rachel.cunneen@canberra.edu.au
Dr Tessa Daffern 6D13 02 6201 2858 tessa.daffern@canberra.edu.au
Dr Ajay Ramful 02 6201 2692 Ajay.Ramful@canberra.edu.au
Dr Siew Yin Ho
Duncan Driver 6D3 6201 5584 duncan.driver@canberra.edu.au
Dr. Elke Stracke 6C86 6201 2492 Elke.Stracke@canberra.edu.au
Emily Hills 6D18 6206 8346 emily.hills@canberra.edu.au
Dr. Ruth Fielding 6C88 6201 5667 ruth.fielding@canberra.edu.au
Professor Robert Fitzgerald 25C2 Robert.Fitzgerald@canberra.edu.au
Professor Mike Gaffney 3D50 02 6206 2533 mike.gaffney@canberra.edu.au
Geoff Taylor 6D18 6206 5697 Geoff.Taylor@canberra.edu.au
Angela Hall 02 6206 8973 Angela.Hall@canberra.edu.au
Dr Wayne Hawkins 6D12 02 6201 2234 Wayne.Hawkins@canberra.edu.au
Dr Iain Hay 6D17 02 6201 5910 Iain.Hay@canberra.edu.au
Dr Sandra Heaney-Mustafa 6D25 02 6201 5387 Sandra.Heaney-Mustafa@canberra.edu.au
Dr. Deborah Hill 6C82 6201 2626 Deborah.Hill@canberra.edu.au
AsstProf Jessa Rogers 6D27 6201 2324 jessa.rogers@canberra.edu.au
Kathy Mann 6C10 02 6201 2467 kathy.mann@canberra.edu.au
Ms Kristine Kershaw 6D9 02 6201 2627 Kristine.Kershaw@canberra.edu.au
Dr Chris Kilham 6C59 02 6201 2739 Chris.Kilham@canberra.edu.au
Dr Misty Kirby 6D3 02 6201 5584 Misty.Kirby@canberra.edu.au
Professor Moosung Lee 6B24 02 6201 5283 MooSung.Lee@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Simon Leonard 6C39 02 6201 5892 Simon.Leonard@canberra.edu.au
Dr Charlotte Liu 6C16A 02 6201 2858 Charlotte.Liu@canberra.edu.au
Assistant Prof Tracy Logan 7D38 02 6201 5789 tracy.logan@canberra.edu.au
Assistant Prof Tracy Logan 7D38 02 6201 5789 tracy.logan@canberra.edu.au
Centenary Professor Tom Lowrie 7CV34 02 6201 2568 thomas.lowrie@canberra.edu.au
Michael Walsh 6D18 6201 2490 MichaelWalsh@canberra.edu.au
Michaela Vergano 6D18 6201 5697 michaela.vergano@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Katja Mikhailovich 6D34 02 6201 2446 Katja.Mikhailovich@canberra.edu.au
Chris Morrissey 6D37 02 6206 8344 chris.morrissey@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Thomas William Nielsen 6D8 02 6201 5699 Thomas.Nielsen@canberra.edu.au
Professor Barbara Pamphilon 6D26 02 6201 2323 Barbara.Pamphilon@canberra.edu.au
Associate Prof David Paterson 6D2 02 6206 8848 david.paterson@canberra.edu.au
Dr Eleni Petraki 6C84 6201 5219 eleni.petraki@canberra.edu.au
Professor Robyn Jorgensen 0448 840 231 robyn.jorgensen@canberra.edu.au
Mrs Carmel Richardson 5B23 02 6201 5992 Carmel.Richardson@canberra.edu.au
Professor Geoffrey Riordan 6C77 02 6201 2093 Geoffrey.Riordan@canberra.edu.au
Dr Philip Roberts 6D29 02 6206 8625 Philip.Roberts@canberra.edu.au
Dr Tiina Roppola 6D31 02 6206 8633 Tiina.Roppola@canberra.edu.au
Dr Steve Shann 6C23 02 6201 5697 Steve.Shann@canberra.edu.au
Dr Kym Simoncini 6D11 02 6201 2400 Kym.Simoncini@canberra.edu.au
Dr Janet Smith 6D36 02 6201 5915 Janet.Smith@canberra.edu.au
Professor Francesco Sofo 6D30 02 6201 5123 Francesco.Sofo@canberra.edu.au
Professor John Spriggs 6C60 02 6201 2317 John.Spriggs@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Affrica Taylor 6D33 02 6201 2290 Affrica.Taylor@canberra.edu.au
Associate Professor Jackie Walkington 6D40 02 6201 2324 Jackie.Walkington@canberra.edu.au
Professor Ting Wang 6D32 02 6201 2495 Ting.Wang@canberra.edu.au
Professor Louise Watson 6C14 02 6201 5357 Louise.Watson@canberra.edu.au
John Williams 6D41 02 6201 5261 john.williams@canberra.edu.au